Premium Cigars at Discount Prices! Order Toll Free: 1-800-564-2486 Contact Us
Sign Up

Ashton Virgin Sun Grown Robusto Reviews [view details]

Give us YOUR review!

Showing 1 through 10 of 12 reviews

"Excellent Cigar"
Ashton VSGs are my second favorite cigar of all time. Strong, with a somewhat sweet, savory smoke with zero harshness. Construction is excellent as is the draw. Mine have always burned very nicely. I just love the flavor. They re very nicely priced for what they are. Not cheap, but worth every penny and then some. Overall, I d say the current 91 consensus rating is quite low. Personally, 94 seems about right.
Al in West Chester April 15, 2014
"New favorite for sure"
This AM I took an Ashton VSG out of the Humi to give it a try based on the ratings on this site the comments...It was a great relaxing smoke with everything I wanted and more from a fantastic cigar at a reasonable price. Hope you will enjoy one as much as I did..
Herb in Dana Point Ca. March 30, 2013
"Outstanding Smoke!"
This cigar is not cheap but everytime I get a chance to smoke on of these I don't regret paying the price. Full of flavor and a near perfect draw. Even with miniuim box time you can smoke these things down to the nub. Not really a cigar for the novice smoker as it is full of twist and turns. Parred with a nice single malt...can't go wrong!
CB in MD December 16, 2011
"like the baby of a hemingway and an opusx"
This cigar is absolutley incredible, very full bodied and peppery but smooth at the same time. The only way I can describe the flavor is like an opus x and a hemingway had a baby, it has all the flavors of an opus but has a very smooth and VERY present pepper that I can't get enough of. I will deffinitely buy more and soon at that
AF in WI July 9, 2010
"Makes My Teeth Shiver"
My favorite Dominican hands down.
John in Grayslake Il December 30, 2009
"Poorly made overpriced cigar"
I purchased this cigar on the advice of the smoke shop guy, who has steered me well a few times before. When I cut it, I noticed that the end was hard to cut (with a very expensive sharp cutter). Looking at the cut end the tobacco leaves were packed so tightly that the end looked like wood. I've never seen this before in any cigar. I slightly squeezed the cigar up and down and it seemed that the end 1 inch (near the foot) was very hard, obviously packed way too tight. I lit the cigar figuring it would draw like crap and sure enough it did. I made another cut about 1/8" in to no avail. Finally I used my pipe tool to poke into the cigar in several places to get it to draw ok. Even with this it was only ok, and there was really nothing exceptional about this cigar. Some may say that I may have purchased one bad one in the bunch, but for the price I paid there is no excuse - this is why these makers have Quality Control. Do yourself a favor and spend your hard earned money on something better!
Bob in Michigan April 1, 2009
"Fantastic smoke"
Full bodied yet smooth as silk. Lot's of smoke with a white ash and solid burn. This is just as good as my Opus X's dare I say.
Chuck in Frederick MD June 5, 2008
"Overpriced "Kool-Aid""
No denying this is a good cigar, but no way are they worth the price of admission. Better 'gars out there for less $$.
Roland in North Carolina April 6, 2008
"Awesome all-around stick."
S. Newsense, would you give up on women after one bad experience? NO! So you had a bum stick, sorry bro. That does not take away from the fact that these are some sweet cigars. There will always be bad sticks with every brand, but with Ashton, a bad stick is a rare occurrence.
Jonathan Tewksbury in Simi Valley February 12, 2008
"Don't waste your time"
First off the draw is WAY too tight. The cigar tastes wonderful while in the beginning when it stays lit. Unfortunately the draw is so tight that the cigar burned out twice before I got through the first half, with the taste suffering as a consequence. I'm trying to finish it now but it appears to be going out on me again. I have to puff it 4 or 5 times a minute to keep it lit and I'm sure that's killing the taste too. Maybe I got a bum stick but unfortunately I'm not going to waste another $10 to find out. Save your money and your aggrevation. Its hard to enjoy when you spend more time trying to touch it up and reignite it than actually smoking it.
S. Newsense in Baltimore, MD November 13, 2007
Next
Customer Ratings

10 Burn (88) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Consistency (89) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Draw (92) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Appearance (93) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Taste (92) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Construction (91) 100
Poor - Excellent


Test Flights - Samplers from dozens of brands!
5-Pack Frenzy...just got a lot crazier!