I hate saving money on cigarsX

SAVE UP TO 20%
on your next order
WHEN YOU SIGN UP TO RECEIVE OUR AWESOME EMAIL DEALS
 
Premium Cigars at Discount Prices! Order Toll Free: 1-800-564-2486 Contact Us
Sign Up

CAO Gold Robusto Reviews [view details]

Give us YOUR review!

Showing 1 through 10 of 34 reviews

"good consistant stick"
Every time I get these PDRs they are great. Sometimes they need to be preped but very seldom do they let me down.
SteveR in Arizona July 29, 2014
"A nice smoke"
Had this cigar for the first time. A very mild nice burning cigar. No nasty aftertaste after burning all the way down. Will definitely buy more of these reasonable priced sticks
Kevin in St Charles,il March 30, 2014
"Terrible draw, Unsmokeable"
Everything good that could be said about this cigar is immediately overshadowed by the draw. The appearance is great, looks like a solid cigar... but too solid. I knew right away when I had to push with both hands just to cut the tip that I was going to have problems. It's packed WAYYY too tightly, solid tobacco. This makes it almost impossible to smoke; your cheeks will cave in just trying to get a small puff. The flavor is OK but nothing special. I only had two of these sticks and they were both consistent (-ly bad). If I were to say something good about it, the burn was nice and even but all the smoke got caught in the solid wall of tobacco that is this cigar. Definitely do NOT buy this kind, as CAO has several other lines that are pretty good. Didn't even smoke half of it. Once again, IMPOSSIBLE to draw, and over filtering yields poor smoke density. Nothing "gold" about this cigar at all.
Daniel in Dallas, TX July 30, 2013
"I don't understand the complaints"
Just smoked one of these and I'm not sure what people are complaining about; It is definitely a mild smoke, as advertised, so no surprises there. There are definitely more flavorful mild-bodied smokes out there, but I was not unimpressed by this one. A near-perfect burn with an easy draw the whole way through, accompanied by a very nutty flavor with mild hints of vanilla progressing through the stick and very creamy smoke; and this was right off the UPS truck! With some time in the humidor I imagine this cigar could stand against most mild-bodied selections. Aside from the sometimes bland flavor profile, the only complaint I have is that it burned rather hot; very warm in my hand the whole time, but nothing severe. All-in-all a recommendable smoke for beginners and a decent introduction to CAO, though by no means indicative of their more complex blends.
A. Smoker in Minnesota July 18, 2013
"Not a quality cigar"
I don't consider myself a cigar aficionado, but I do enjoy a good smoke. This cigar, however, does not qualify as a good smoke. I ordered a sampler that included two and wanted to smoke both before reviewing. Both, however, had poor burn, consistency and draw. Also, the flavor of the cigar is not one I find enjoyable. The only pleasant part of the experience was when I finished.
Ken S in Philippines July 7, 2013
"Not the best of CAO"
I like the CAO brand but this one was not the best. No problem with draw or burn but the taste was not very good. I could have gotten a bad one in the batch but smoked about half of the cigar and that was it.
Anthony in California May 25, 2013
"This smoke defines mild"
I have never had a more mild ,smooth and flawless smoking experience. This smoke defines what mild is in a great cigar.. Way to go CAO!!!
Kevin in Oklahoma August 31, 2012
"terrible draw, unsmokeable"
I usually like CAOs and probably have two or three different boxes in my humidor at the same time. These were unsmokeable. The draw was so bad, even after two months that I had to return them which was a hassle too. Famous Smoke's return policy is 30 days so don't wait. Get rid of these ASAP.
Scott in Pittsford, NY August 3, 2012
"Okay at best..."
The cigar was mild but had no defining characteristic to it. I prefer Baccarat and Gispert, which burned more evenly and had a sweeter taste. The CAO Gold robusto had poor construction especially towards the cap. It came apart a little more than half-way through the smoke.
Chuck in FL July 1, 2012
"Difficult Draw"
Unsatisfying draw and flavor. Instead of enjoying it, you just think making your money worth.
Mike in Austin, TX March 2, 2012
Next
Customer Ratings

10 Burn (85) 100
Poor Burn Rating Excellent

10 Consistency (85) 100
Poor Consistency Rating Excellent

10 Draw (86) 100
Poor Draw Rating Excellent

10 Appearance (90) 100
Poor Appearance Rating Excellent

10 Taste (85) 100
Poor Taste Rating Excellent

10 Construction (87) 100
Poor Construction Rating Excellent


Evolution by Rocky Patel
New Cigars - See all Famous’ latest and greatest!