I hate saving money on cigarsX

SAVE UP TO 20%
on your next order
WHEN YOU SIGN UP TO RECEIVE OUR AWESOME EMAIL DEALS
 
Premium Cigars at Discount Prices! Order Toll Free: 1-800-564-2486 Contact Us
Sign Up

Don Pepin Garcia Black Reviews

Showing 1 through 10 of 28 reviews

Don Pepin Garcia Black Toro 1950
"Dry boxing necessary"
After about two weeks of dry boxing, this burnt and tasted like a charm, only ashing twice once midway, and again at the nub and with consistent flavor and no bitterness all the way to the very end. Medium bodied, with cream and soft caramel on the palate and strong, minty cedar on the retro hale.
Stefan in City by the Bay January 2, 2014
Don Pepin Garcia Black Toro 1950
"Flaky wrapper"
After having spent about a month in the humidor at around 72% the Habano wrapper is currently flaking during the smoke, and the burn is less than razor sharp. Consistent flavors, but a little too much bitterness on the finish for my liking. Can t justify buying a box, even on sale.
Stefan in City by the Bay December 20, 2013
Don Pepin Garcia Black Toro 1950
"This is it"
After trying an Aging Room, a Gurkha, and a carlos Torano tonight, this one finally hit the spot. Outstanding medium-full cigar.
Stefan in City by the Bay December 20, 2013 December 11, 2013
Don Pepin Garcia Black Toro 1950
"Go Don Pepin!"
My first Don Pepin and it has surpassed my expectation. Based on other reviews I was afraid it would be over-the-top peppery like the Perdomos, but this stogie turned out to be very balanced. Impeccable construction, perfect burn, and excellent draw though a punch. Cocoa notes in the beginning. followed by wood and leather. Mint on the second third, particularly on the retrohale. Became a bit drying on the palate by the end of the second third, but in a good way. Black pepper on the last third. Went out and then started tasting chemically after it passed the band. Overall, a little stinky, and perhaps a tad green? I wonder what a few months in the humidor will do to these...
Stefan November 27, 2013
Don Pepin Garcia Black Robusto 1979
"My favorite"
My standby for a great smoke. Never disappointing, full of flavor, perfect draw. Always my number one purchase, when I share one with friends I have always received great feedback. Keep up the good work and I will continue to pass the good word.
R T V in Southern California August 5, 2013
Don Pepin Black Toro Gordo 2001
"Great Cigar!"
Purchased a box on sale about six months ago. Everything was perfect; taste, construction, flavor, burn, etc. If you enjoy full-bodied stogies, go with this!
Don in Mechanicville, NY February 22, 2011
Don Pepin Garcia Black Robusto 1979
"Ok cigar nothing special"
Good draw so so taste but nothing great.
Zach s in Ventura ca February 21, 2011
Don Pepin Garcia Black Toro 1950
"I Bought 4 Boxes Already"
The DP Black Toro 1950 has probably become one of my favorite smokes. I guess I have been smoking them for 3 years now, probably 2 a month or so. I always find them a treat. Don Pepin and company have done an excellent job on this production. So far they have been consistent, but only time will tell how long they can keep it up. Being consistent with all the things that can go wrong in this business is hard to do. I find the flavor extremely Don Pepinish. With the peppery taste upfront and then the delicious complex flavors afterwards. A hard cigar to beat with a cabernet. The price on these have gone up since I first bought them 3 years ago. Probably has a lot to do with the new government taxation. Another story for sure.
Lite Dave in Southern US January 31, 2011
Don Pepin Garcia Black Toro 1950
"not worth a try and overrated"
a soft cigar that lacks draw.it is full of air and has a dry taste.not well constructed at all.does look good but smokes poorly.
andy in palm desert June 5, 2010
Don Pepin Garcia Black Toro 1950
"good flavor...badly constructed and rolled"
complex smoke but a very easy draw as it is not packed/rolled or contructed tight enough.burns easily...easily squeezable even and stored, settled, and cured for a while.basically too much air in the tobacco and not enough tobacco.burns easily.if you like to take small shallow puffs, then this is your cigar.it is not for me.don't agree with previous ratings and i am lifetime cigar smoker.
andy in orange county June 4, 2010
Next
La Floridita Limited Edition Cigars
Evolution by Rocky Patel