Premium Cigars at Discount Prices! Order Toll Free: 1-800-564-2486 Contact Us
Sign Up

Don Pepin Garcia Black Robusto 1979 Reviews [view details]

Give us YOUR review!

Showing 1 through 10 of 10 reviews

"My favorite"
My standby for a great smoke. Never disappointing, full of flavor, perfect draw. Always my number one purchase, when I share one with friends I have always received great feedback. Keep up the good work and I will continue to pass the good word.
R T V in Southern California August 5, 2013
"Ok cigar nothing special"
Good draw so so taste but nothing great.
Zach s in Ventura ca February 21, 2011
"Black pepper!"
For me, this cigar is all about black pepper, even burn, with copius amounts of smoke. Its like having a really good steak au poivre - memorable.
ColbyJ in Illinois March 8, 2010
"Still reigns as my No# 1 Cigar!"
This was my first cigar into the world of Don Pepin Garcia. And It was and still is a great experience each time I reach for one! This is the one cigar I can not do without! Wonderful robust flavor, just the right amount of pepper, always a great draw and burn. This is a classic that remains tried and true!
MadRobusto in New York February 18, 2010
"First DPG Experience - Great cigar"
After hearing all of the hype surrounding DPG, I was ready to be disappointed. This cigar, however, was worth every bit of hype. Well made. Strong, without being harsh. Wonderful flavors. Better than cigars I've paid twice as much for.
ck3 in Sunnyside October 24, 2009
"Good full flavor cigar."
Excellent cigar. Good from start to finish. Very well constructed, burns even with easy smooth draw. Nice stable ash and clouds of white smoke. Full flavor, with hints of spice, chocolate, and pepper
Jake in Mississippi October 6, 2009
"great cigar"
As with most of pepin's cigars the 1979 is a winner, great price , great cigar.Burns very good, lot's of flavor.
greg in kansas city August 21, 2009
"Not a good cigar"
Too spicy & doesn't taste good,wrapper unraveled, turned spongy about halfway.
Shamrocks2 in Newport Beach April 9, 2009
"One of the best."
This cigar pre-light had little aroma, kind of a spicy taste when i chomped on it, and a pretty flawless wrapper. When clipped i noticed a very loose draw, but still smokeable. Upon lighting it this cigar had a burst of aroma, unlike most cigars this one sprang out of the gates with aroma and taste. On my pallate it was well balanced with a woody aroma with sweet notes after about 2 inches in. It had thick smoke that was creamy and a very long smooth finish. The ash held strong but i dropped it at 1 1/2 inches even though it didnt wanna fall, and it was an extremely light grey with no mess very tight firm ash. The burn was perfect no tunneling or canoeing, i never once had to correct the burn. The nose hits out of this cigar gave me goosebumps and though it was pretty full strength it wasnt a long smoke and didnt leave me couch ridden after smoking. I smoked it to pretty much a nub and it never got bitter. I definitely will be buying more of these magical short smokes.
john in PA September 4, 2008
"Possibly the best Pepin Garcia cigar"
Admittedly, I am a big fan of Pepin Garcia's cigars. But, in my opinion, the black labels have a better flavor than either the blue labels or the Series JJs. They have that distinctive Pepin flavor, good strength, great draw, and even burn. The robusto (1979) packs a tremendous amount of flavor in a short cigar, and they have become a staple of my humidor.
Phil in Atlanta, Georgia March 7, 2008
Customer Ratings

10 Burn (84) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Consistency (89) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Draw (90) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Appearance (88) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Taste (88) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Construction (86) 100
Poor - Excellent


CigarMonster - New killer cigar deals every day!
Test Flights - Samplers from dozens of brands!