Premium Cigars at Discount Prices! Order Toll Free: 1-800-564-2486 Contact Us
Sign Up

Excalibur Dark Knight Reviews

Showing 21 through 30 of 42 reviews

Excalibur 1066 Dark Knight
"GREAT CIGAR"
GREAT FULL BODY CIGAR, GREAT TASTE ONE OF FAVORITS
RAY in CHICAGO March 11, 2008
Excalibur 1066 Dark Knight
"Enough oil in the wrapper to fry a chicken!!!"
This really could be a great cigar with a little change in the wrapper. It starts very mild and builds in flavor but I can't get past the oily wrapper. It is so oily that you can smell the oil burning in it. This cigar produces a huge amount of smoke from the wrapper, not through the cigar. I took these out of the wrapper and let them set for a couple of months. Better, but still very oily. Unless you like the smell of a grease fire, you may not like this one.
btg in Michigan March 10, 2008
Excalibur 1066 Dark Knight II
"One of the very best"
This is in my opinion one of the very best cigars on the market . I had no trouble at all with the burn and draw. The taste was out of this world. One of the very best values for your money hands down. Thanks Famous for the great prices on this terrific smoke!
G. Morgan in Kansas City January 30, 2008
Excalibur 1066 Dark Knight III
"Fine Smoke for Me and My Muse"
Having recently finished the third and final novel in the January series, and lighting upon the concept for my next project, I decided to try a new cigar to kick off my first writing session. I’d sampled a number of Hoyo de Monterrey smokes over the years and have never been disappointed. Established by Jose Gener in 1867, this cigar factory, located in a valley in the Vuelta Abajo, is one of the oldest cigar brands of Cuba. The Excalibur Dark Knight, named after the legendary sword of King Arthur and the historic Battle of Hastings, is made with Honduran, Nicaraguan, and Dominican filler and a Connecticut Broadleaf binder elegantly wrapped in an aromatic extra dark and oily African Cameroon wrapper. It looks delicious and comes handsomely packaged in a cedar lined high gloss black box with brass hinges and clasp, and gold letters. Upon lighting, I was rewarded with great plumes of smoke and a spicy flavor that complimented my morning cup of coffee. My muse was much pleased, and so we set about the task of writing our prologue. A couple of hours later, our prologue complete and a good portion of chapter one on paper, the Excalibur, which had gone through a series of enticing transitions, none too strong or bitter, finished pleasantly on a cedary note, with me disappointed at having to let it go out. On a final note, The Robb Report recognized Excalibur as one of the world's five greatest cigars. Who am I to argue? Whether you’re a novice or an experienced cigar connoisseur, I highly recommend the Dark Knight.
J. Conrad Guest in Northville, Michigan December 20, 2007
Excalibur 1066 Dark Knight
"It will be a sad day...."
If Hoyo ever stops production of this line. Handsdown, this is my go-to cigar.. This is a very flavorful and smooth tasting cigar that looks amazing (very dark with tooth..) It produces a great smokey aroma that is very pleasant.. Reasonably priced for year long enjoyment too!
Mike D in NY December 20, 2007
Excalibur 1066 Dark Knight II
"GREAT cigar weak wrapper and cap ..."
This cigar has a great taste and burns good. The only SERIOUS problem is the weak cap/wrapper. The cigars start to fall apart half way through and that really weighs on the value of the cigar.
SAV in New York September 28, 2007
Excalibur 1066 Dark Knight
"Black Knight is it!"
I feel that the taste is good in the start then to a spicy to bitter, although it is a dark cigar it is inconsistent to the burn. A comparrison is the ONXY Reserve Toro or the Romeo & Julieta(maduro)Reserve, those cigars are the two to compare and the C.A.O. Mx2 is another. Good cigar but no banana.
Mark Yule in FL July 8, 2007
Excalibur 1066 Dark Knight II
"The Dark Knight is Quite a Delight!"
This cigar was a wonderful smoke from start to finish. The taste was consistent, the smoke creamy and full, and the ash was firm and white. The only regret that I have is that I only picked up one stick (a whole box is on its way now!). I recommend this smoke to anyone who wants to add a flavorful, well-rounded, mild to medium-bodied smoke to their line-up.
Jason in York Springs, PA June 8, 2007
Excalibur 1066 Dark Knight
"KOTR"
This was a great cigar, up until the halfway point. Smooth with a slight sweetness to the aftertaste, then once I hit halfway it turned bitter. First half was worth it though, will buy again.
Gandalf in Portland March 31, 2007
Excalibur 1066 Dark Knight
"Worthy"
Re-visit to an old favorite. Some taste inconsistency, but very good impression overall. Rich flavor when right and burn fine. Definitely back in the rotation. Five star jaw breaking smoke. Recommended.
Tom Hannon in PA September 19, 2006
Previous Next
Closeout Deals! Save Big!
Evolution by Rocky Patel