I hate saving money on cigarsX

SAVE UP TO $30
on your next order
WHEN YOU SIGN UP TO RECEIVE OUR AWESOME EMAIL DEALS
 

Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo Reviews

82 consumerrating
average customer review
from 11 customers
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
81
Construction
82
Draw
82
Consistency
82
Appearance
82
Burn
84
Purchased this product? Share you thoughts with other customers:

write your own review
most helpful positive review
73 consumer rating
Outdoor stogie
for Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo
by in Yerevan, Armenia on March 13, 2015
Verified purchase

Have to agree with previous comment from AlanJ, stating, that it needs some humidor time. They were unsmokable for the first 3 weeks after shipping, but after this time they were ok. Not good, but ok. The other thing, I have to say, they are better on open air, not in a room.

0 0
most helpful negative review
58 consumer rating
You Get What You Pay For...
for Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo
by in Florida on February 20, 2013
Verified purchase

I guess you really do get what you pay for. If you want to give up cigar smoking, try these Torpedos. Draws is non-existent (like sucking through a straw), it burns hot, and requires at least 2 re-lights. Oh well, maybe it's just me and maybe I got a "bad" bundle, so I'll leave them in the humidor to "age" a bit but I don't have high hopes for them. Now, if you want a good house brand smoke, try a Famous Nigaraguan 3000 Torpedo. Excellent construction, proper draw, slow and even burn, just a pleasant easy-going smoke.

0 0
recommended for you based on Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo
Results per page:
10
  • 24
  • 48
  • 72
  • 96
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
70
Construction
80
Draw
80
Consistency
70
Appearance
70
Burn
70
73 consumer rating
Outdoor stogie
for Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo
by in Yerevan, Armenia on March 13, 2015
Verified purchase

Have to agree with previous comment from AlanJ, stating, that it needs some humidor time. They were unsmokable for the first 3 weeks after shipping, but after this time they were ok. Not good, but ok. The other thing, I have to say, they are better on open air, not in a room.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
90
Construction
90
Draw
90
Consistency
90
Appearance
100
Burn
90
91 consumer rating
Nicely suprised.
for Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo
by in San Antonio, TX on February 20, 2013
Verified purchase

Bought a bundle for the golf course, lit one up yesterday and was I ever suprised. Great cigar and now that I see they are on sale for 26 bucks it blows my mind. Good flavor, not as much as a super premium but its there. Good construction and pack. Stays lit all the way through. A must try for cheapie events like golfing.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
70
Construction
80
Draw
70
Consistency
70
Appearance
70
Burn
80
72 consumer rating
Needs Some Humidor Time
for Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo
by in Florida on February 20, 2013
Verified purchase

If you smoke these without giving them some unwrapped humidor time, you will be disappointed. They'll smell like burning rope. However, removing the cellophane and letting them sit in the humidor for at least a week will definitely improve them greatly. They're still not my favorite smoke but humidor time does help quite a bit.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
60
Construction
60
Draw
40
Consistency
60
Appearance
70
Burn
60
58 consumer rating
You Get What You Pay For...
for Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo
by in Florida on February 20, 2013
Verified purchase

I guess you really do get what you pay for. If you want to give up cigar smoking, try these Torpedos. Draws is non-existent (like sucking through a straw), it burns hot, and requires at least 2 re-lights. Oh well, maybe it's just me and maybe I got a "bad" bundle, so I'll leave them in the humidor to "age" a bit but I don't have high hopes for them. Now, if you want a good house brand smoke, try a Famous Nigaraguan 3000 Torpedo. Excellent construction, proper draw, slow and even burn, just a pleasant easy-going smoke.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
80
Construction
80
Draw
80
Consistency
80
Appearance
90
Burn
80
81 consumer rating
A Fistful of a Cigar
for Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo
by in Annandale, MN on February 20, 2013
Verified purchase

This is another good Famous Dominican. I like the full 54 ring size and the good taste and construction of this cigar. I'd like to know what the 1000, 2000, 3000, 4000, and 5000 designations of the various Famous Dominicans signify, though.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
NR consumer rating
Great Burn, Great Draw, Great Price/ Needs time!
for Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo
by in Indianapolis, IN on February 20, 2013

These cigars represent an excellent value but they need to soak in the cedar for a while. Never had a $1 cigar that looked and smoked like this one. Right out of the bundle, the first one is being enjoyed as I type this. I have to say that the flavor doesn't set my world on fire but for a buck or so a piece, WTF? Let's not kid ourselves here, it is not a Romeo Y Julietta or a Macanudo but it's also not $5 a stick. I've tried a few others in this range that tasted like hay being smoked through a rusty tailpipe with a pillow stuffed inside to add to the dis-comfort of knowing you've been marked as a schmuck just for trying it. This is not the case here at all. This would make a great anytime smoke, especially when you want to burn one and not pay a whole lot of attention to it! Bought these on sale and would buy them again-on sale. Wife hates the smell of these though, that is the biggest complaint.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
NR consumer rating
Excellent Bundled Cigar, Excellent Price!
for Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo
by in Loveland, CO on February 20, 2013

The torpedo is my favorite bundled cigar. The secret is to let them age in the humidor for about a month. I pass these out to friends who visit and they are surprised. These are my everyday (afterwork) smoke and save the really excellent premium ones for my weekend reward!

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
90
Construction
100
Draw
100
Consistency
100
Appearance
90
Burn
100
95 consumer rating
Budget Price, Luxury Taste
for Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo
by in Detroit on February 20, 2013
Verified purchase

Well now it's been over a month since I got these cigars, and I've been plowing through them quite quickly. Delicious!

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
NR consumer rating
Bargain Hunters will love this cigar!
for Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo
by in Detroit on February 20, 2013
Verified purchase

I got four bundles of this cigar off of cigarauctioneer.com. Famous Smoke has almost always given me some good cigar deals, but this is one of the tops! I smoked one out of the bundle and was thoroughly impressed. Mild to medium in strength, good tobacco/leathery, perhaps even slightly nutty taste. Two weeks later I had one and was even more impressed. The draw was perfect. So far I have tried two out of each bundle and I like them. Highly recommended!

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
70
Construction
80
Draw
80
Consistency
80
Appearance
80
Burn
80
76 consumer rating
If you like a milder cigar these are worth trying
for Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo
by in Wisconsin on February 20, 2013
Verified purchase

If you like a milder cigar these are worth trying. I ordered because the country and ingredient tobaccos were described the sames as Hamilton House brand...which I really liked. These are nothing like those, however. Remember 20-30 years ago when Dutch Masters was a decent cigar. These remind me of those. I usually like maduro cigars, so these are not my "flavor", but after they sat in my humidor for about a month, they settled down to a nice mild smoke.(They came awfully dry).They became pleasing in burn, construction, and draw. They cannot be smoked out of the bundle, however, as you will find that any taste at all is only unpleasant. I would have bet money that it wasn't even the same cigar. What a difference a few weeks in the humidor it made.

0 0
Results per page:
10
  • 24
  • 48
  • 72
  • 96