I hate saving money on cigarsX

SAVE UP TO 20%
on your next order
WHEN YOU SIGN UP TO RECEIVE OUR AWESOME EMAIL DEALS
 
Premium Cigars at Discount Prices! Order Toll Free: 1-800-564-2486 Contact Us
Sign Up

Famous Nicaraguan Selection 1000 Churchill Reviews [view details]

Give us YOUR review!

Showing 1 through 10 of 14 reviews

"Fair"
Seems they added SUGAR to the wrap. YUK!
Brian in Colorado October 14, 2010
"PRETTY GOOD GOOD PRICE"
RECIEVED THE MADURO CHURCHILLS MADURO WRAPPER VERY LIGHT LOOKED LIKE A NATURAL. HAD SOME MINOR WRAPPER ISSUES ON A COUPLE. FOR THE MONEY THESE ARE WORTH THE PRICE. I GAVE MINE A DOUBLE DOSE OF WINE ON THE WRAPPER AND LET THEM SET FOR A COUPLE WEEKS, MAKES FOR A GOOD CIGAR, AS THEY ARE THEY ARENT TO MY TASTE BUT THATS A PERSONAL THING, THEY ARE FOR THE MONEY, A DECENT CIGAR. I HAVE THROWN SO MANY CIGARS AWAY FROM THOMPSON CIGAR CO. THAT I WONT ORDER ANYMORE FROM THEM. I JUST THREW AWAY 4O CIGARS FROM A BOX OF 50 COSECHEROS ABSOLUTLY DISCUSTING AND AT IDLE THEY WILL SET OFF A SMOKE ALARM, I HAVE NEVER RECIEVED A GOOD CIGAR FROM THOMPSON MOST ARE DRIED OUT AND YOU COULD NOT DRAW SMOKE FROM THEM WITH A VACUMN CLEANER. I CAN TRUTHFULLY SAY I HAVE NEVER GOTTEN A BAD CIGAR FROM FAMOUS AND THEIR SEVICE IS OUTSTANDING IM GLAD I FOUND THEM ON THE INTERNET.
JOHN W. in GREENWOOD, ARKANSAS May 23, 2009
"Not so great at first but aged surprisingly well"
First couple I smoked were a step or two up from a gas station cigar. But, after wintering in the humidor, it turned into a surprisingly well balanced cigar. Worth the price no matter what, worth much more if you're willing to wait.
Sam in Minneapolis April 20, 2009
"Best cigar for the price."
Maybe my expectations were really low but I was very surprised how good these cigars were. I will definitely buy some more to keep in my humidor. Reminded me of Helix Cylinders but a bit stronger. The finish was kind of harsh but otherwise a good everyday cigar.
Gary in Fort Worth October 16, 2008
"Free and worth it"
Good cigar to relax with on the drive home from work. I pitch about 5 out of 20 for poor construction or taste (what's the Spanish word for the leaf the dog just visited?) but smoke the rest. The good ones are mild, good draw, good ash, etc. I would not buy these on their own due to the inconsistancy. The last bundle had frequent wrapper splitting that looked bad but did not affect the taste of the good ones. These are offered as a premium when purchasing other Nicuraguan selection so the price is right and I can live with a 25% reject rate.
John in Ohio July 7, 2007
"Also very suprised"
I wasnt expecting much and was pleasently suprised, the draw was a little tight but tasted great, not very compex but made up for it with its smoothness and I smoked it down to about four inches and it still was tasteing good. I won these in a auction and I think I found a great cigar for the buck !
The Factor in Beaverton Oregon June 14, 2007
"Surprised!"
I got a bundle of FamousNic 1000 churchills free with my bundle of F3K's. Today i grabbed one not expecting much but i was very surprised. The cigar is constructed very well. The wrapper has many green spots especially close to the veins, but the construction is very good. Not too firm, but not spongy either when i gave it a little squeeze. The draw is very good, almost perfect, leaning slightly towards the hard side, which i like because it prevents me from smoking too quickly. The foot lit up VERY nicely. Perfect white ring when i lit it. The white-ness continued throughout the cigar. I have seen very few cigars with such white ash. The burn really surprised me. Very straight and the few times it went wayward, it quickly corrected itself. The burn is one you would expect on a $15 and up cigar. Now the taste!! This cigar does not change flavors, however, the one flavor it has is a good one. Very nice tobacco sweetness with a hint of F3K creamyness (maybe because they are stored next to each other in my humi). Not bitter at all, even when taking huge draws. It might be hard for some to sit through the entire cigar with that one taste. IMO it's perfect for when you want a long cigar that you don't have to care too much about, e.g. golfing or fishing. I am very pleased with this cigar especially since it was FREE. I smoked an indian tabac super fuerte churchill yesterday and i would take this over that one anyday. Now i just have to hope that the other 19 are just as good!!
chris in tx June 13, 2007
"Good and Bad"
Got a bundle of these as a freebie with my N3K order. Half of them have had a rather difficult draw. The others have been just great! Good flavor. Will report back after some exteded humi-time.
Allen Sirken in TX June 4, 2007
"'Pleasantly surprised' doesn't even cover it"
I got these on a buy-one-get-one deal on the website, and I didn't know anything about them. After smoking several, I think I have a good feel for this cigar's characteristics. Draw: scary good draw...mine were rolled by masters. It takes a great torcedor to roll a churchill with such an effortless draw without the trade offs of a hot burn, or locking up halfway down. This will happen after about 2 weeks of in-home aging to balance out the moisture in the cigars. Taste: Sweet and savory, mild and woody to me. Very pleasant and satisfying. Really reminds me of the Flor de Oliva Natural in the flavor category. The draw on these is better,in my opinion. Strength: I'd put this one right in the middle of the road, which is perfect for this size of cigar...never overpowers. Burn: Okay, they aren't perfect. A couple re-lights, one I had to lop off the bad burn and start over. It worked good. The slower you smoke this one, the more evenly it seems to smoke, but if you like to puff alot, keep a lighter handy to touch it up. The wrappers are thin, but very shiny and toothy. And. the thin wrapper (be careful) makes the burn easy to correct if you rush it. Ash: 1" crisp white ash. Value: Now that I have tried them for myself, it is easy for me to see why they call this one a good value. I think folks at Famous are becoming masters of the understatement. It's no N3K, but brother, it sure ain't bad! For an everyday smoke, these are a pleasant alternative to some other supposedly "bargain" cigars for the same money. To put it in perspective, if the N3K (AKA The Holy Grail) is a 10 in terms of value for the money, this cigar would be an 8. A few minor flaws, but still a treat to smoke at this price.
Rod in Ohio April 15, 2007
"A LOT OF CIGAR FOR THE MONEY"
YOUR CATALOG HAS UNDERESTIMATED THE STREGNTH OF THIS VERY GOOD CIGAR. IT SAYS IT'S MILD/MEDIUM. I'M HERE TO TELL YA....IN MY BOOK IT'S PRETTY DARN FULL. I GOTTA TELL YOU....THIS IS A VERY GOOD CIGAR AND DOLLAR FOR DOLLAR IT'S QUITE A BARGAIN BUT I HAVE BEEN ABSOLUTELY TAKEN BY ANOTHER ONE OF YOUR NICARAGUAN CIGARS. I KNOW IT'S NOT FAIR TO COMPARE THE TWO BUT THE N3K IS CLOSEST TO MY HEART. WHAT A NICE PROBLEM TO HAVE...ISN'T IT?
BRUCE F. BARNJUM in OH March 14, 2007
Next
Customer Ratings

10 Burn (77) 100
Poor Burn Rating Excellent

10 Consistency (80) 100
Poor Consistency Rating Excellent

10 Draw (76) 100
Poor Draw Rating Excellent

10 Appearance (79) 100
Poor Appearance Rating Excellent

10 Taste (81) 100
Poor Taste Rating Excellent

10 Construction (80) 100
Poor Construction Rating Excellent


Rocky Patel Xtreme
Iron Horse