Premium Cigars at Discount Prices! Order Toll Free: 1-800-564-2486 Contact Us
Sign Up

Gurkha Regent Toro Reviews [view details]

Give us YOUR review!

Showing 1 through 10 of 14 reviews

"Buyer beware"
The stogies in the 15-pack bundle are different than those that come with the Gurkha 6 Pack #1 3x2 . The bundle sticks have a dark brown wrapper as opposed to light brown, are loosely packed and taste earthy and one-dimensional. I was terribly disappointed and returned the remaining 14 sticks to Famous for a credit.
Stefan in City by the Bay February 19, 2014
"Gurkha Inconsistencies"
Two months later, I see this great deal on a bundle of 15 and decide to light up my last Regent. The construction is excellent, and the ash holds great, but the flavor profile turned out to be a little of a let down. The first third was bland and slightly bitter. The second third turned into something akin to a Plesancia Reserva Organica, and then the vanilla creaminess which I now attribute to the cognac infusion I was looking for finally emerged, as well as white pepper on the retrohale. Unfortunately the sweet spot didn t last very long and the last third was similar to the Elegancia, showing mostly cigarette-like tobacco flavors that are a bit harsh on the retrohale. By the end, this stick still left a pleasing almond-like taste in my mouth, while the nicotine felt like a medium+ on an empty stomach. I wonder if these are best consumed fresh.
Stefan in City by the Bay December 28, 2013
"The closest to a mild Cuban?"
I didn t get much out of this at first, having tried it after a full cigar that had dark chocolate and coffee notes. Upon revisiting the next day, I am very impressed with how smooth and light this is, yet with medium flavor reminiscent of good ol Cuban tobacco that leaves a sweet aftertaste with hints of almond. The cigar wasn t too tightly packed, so I am surprised by how tight the draw came through a bullet punch , but it s no biggie. Wonderful white ash, which held better at the beginning than toward the end, but the creamy smoke was cool throughout, with pleasing nutty almond aromas on the retrohale. My only complaints would be that the Habano wrapper is too fragile, almost like a Connecticut, while the burn could be more consistent, especially toward the middle where it goes off easily. Great mild Cuban tobacco flavors overall, which are certain to make this a crowd pleaser.
Stefan in City by the Bay November 1, 2013
"Awesome smoke"
From start to finish, this was one awesome smoke. Good burn and draw with a taste that got better as it went. Never overpowering. Definitely has permanent space in my humidor.
cal in kentucky May 29, 2013
"perfect!"
Another great Gurkha! Great taste, construction, burn, appearance. Didn't want to put it down. Draw was a lil tight at first but got better. Good complexity. Not as good as the Gran Reserve but it's close, and more affordable. After these 2 cigars, Gurkha has a new fan in this guy!
Josh in AL May 11, 2013
"Bout perfect"
Amazing taste, and a toasty golden appearance. Beautiful. Could smoke 5 in a row. Started with a lil spice and sweetness, ended woody. Nice, toasty and definitely mild. Great draw, tons of smoke.
Josh in AL April 22, 2013
"Best Gurkha"
I have had several Gurkhas and never been impressed. never until I had the regent toro. Me and my friends say that when you buy a box of gurkhas, you are paying for the pretty box. This proves it. 15 cigars for 50 bucks, no box, And they taste great. Placing 2nd order now.
Phil in Gainesville, GA February 8, 2013
"Excellent couldn't stop saying yum!"
Ijust tried my first one yesturday while walking the dog...my wife had to laugh after she kept hearing me repeat yum to myself over and over again. Great flavor, great burn and construction. Wonderful value!
Alex in Seattle December 31, 2012
"Gurkha Regent"
Best cigar I've smoked. I'm not a connoisseur by any stretch of the imagination, but this is the cigar of choice. Will buy for life.
Anthony in Indiana October 9, 2012
"My New Favorite"
My brother-in-law was smoking one of these at a family function last weekend and the aroma was captivating. I couldn't put my finger on it, but it was just so unique. I asked him what he was smoking. He said, "A Gurkha". Hmmm, never heard of that but I said I'll have give it a try. So I ordered some from Famous Smoke right away this week and I smoked my first one last night. Wow! This is one fantastic smoke. Even my wife commented on the unique and pleasurable aroma. Great taste, perfect draw, long burn. Can't wait to have another this afternoon!
Mark in Michigan September 20, 2008
Next
Customer Ratings

10 Burn (88) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Consistency (91) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Draw (91) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Appearance (91) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Taste (91) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Construction (91) 100
Poor - Excellent


Oh yes! It’s FREE Stuff!
New Cigars - See all Famous’ latest and greatest!