Premium Cigars at Discount Prices! Order Toll Free: 1-800-564-2486 Contact Us
Sign Up

H.Upmann Sun Grown Magnum Reviews [view details]

Give us YOUR review!

Showing 1 through 8 of 8 reviews

"Still needs more time."
I tried speeding up the aging process by keeping this one stick around 64% RH and while the burn was fantastic [didn t go out when left alone for almost 10 minutes!] the flavor was rather bland and the draw too loose though a 9 mm punch hole.
Stefan in City by the Bay June 29, 2014
"Getting there..."
One and a half months after first opening the box this is getting there... Smoother on the first 2/3ds; can t wait to try again in a month!
Stefan in City by the Bay April 21, 2014
"Boxed fresh"
The sticks in the box are a bit fresh but showing great potential. Can t wait to try again in 3-4 months.
Stefan in City by the Bay March 9, 2014
"Favorite Golf Course Stick"
Maybe because I shot my best round while smoking this stick, lasts the front nine, stays consistent, burns nice...a favorite on the course.
hiroshi in va. March 4, 2014
"Ticket to South America"
If you ve been looking to getting a taste of Cuban cigars but haven t been able to travel abroad then the first third of this stogie is as close as you will get for under $8 a stick and 20 minutes of your time. The flavor profile is perfectly balanced during the first third with just enough pepper on the retrohale to not be overwhelming, exhibiting soft wood on the palate and a little sweetness on the finish. The second third then shows prominent baking soda notes that reminded me of the Padron x000 line. The last third becomes more full and dark, marked initially by salt and pepper and then exhibiting notes of toasted wood and very slight floral hints. To put it prosaically, the first third is Cuban-like, the second-third Nicaraguan-like, and the last third Dominican-like. Draw showed enough resistance through a V cut to not be loose. Burned slowly and cool for about 90 minutes. 90-91 points; {92 points for the flavor, 89 points for the slightly young tobacco, and 80 points for the ugly band}. [PS: FYI, the other sizes perform quite differently; the draw of the smaller sizes is very tight, while that of the 4.5x54 Short Churchill is rather loose.]
Stefan in City by the Bay February 20, 2014
"...ok..."
I got a box as a bonus on my order - I thought I d give it a try. A very nice looking cigar, though the flavour was a bit rough half way down. I didn t like the uneven burn - it s a nice cigar but I wouldn t go out my way to get it again. The RP 60s that come as bonuses are better.
Joe from Ottawa in Ottawa November 3, 2013
"A new favorite..."
An excellent cigar. H. Upmann delivers quality and flavor again at a great price!
Bob in Pittsburgh September 9, 2013
"Nice easy cigar"
This is the perfect Sunday afternoon smoke. Smooth and silky with a great balance of flavors that will keep you coming back for more. Lots of fragrant smoke with just a hint of sweetness on the backside. I will add these to my list of keepers for those lazy afternoons in the hammock.
Jima in Columbia Gorge September 6, 2013
Customer Ratings

10 Burn (91) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Consistency (89) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Draw (91) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Appearance (93) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Taste (89) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Construction (91) 100
Poor - Excellent


Test Flights - Samplers from dozens of brands!
Best Of - Samplers from your favorite manufacturers!