Premium Cigars at Discount Prices! Order Toll Free: 1-800-564-2486 Contact Us
Sign Up

La Flor Dominicana Double Ligero Reviews

Showing 21 through 30 of 77 reviews

La Flor Dominicana Double Ligero #700
"Consistent and Great Value"
I was concerned about the size of this cigar. I normally don't like the larger sizes. This was very well constructed, consistent burn, and not as overpowering as I expected. Consistent profile all the way through, hated to see this one end.
An anonymous smoker August 15, 2011
La Flor Dominicana Double Ligero Chiselito
"FINALLY!!"
I've just been *waiting* to get a 'bad' one of these. Come on, ALL hand rolled cigars have one or two dud's out of every 30 or so? I finally got one that was a tight draw because of a serious plug, right in about the middle of the cigar. Unfortunately, the wrapper was strong enough to withstand my 'hand rolling' to unplug it, so the following smoke was, as usual, perfect. (obviously, I have nothing bad to say about this cigar. Get it. Smoke it. Be Happy. Cheers from Ohio.)
Jason in Ellsworth July 27, 2011
La Flor Dominicana Double Ligero #660
"Outstanding smoke!"
I was given one of these as a gift and what a great gift it was! Definitely would buy more - wish they weren't so expensive but they are worth it for a special occasion.
Jason in Ellsworth July 27, 2011 July 21, 2011
La Flor Dominicana Double Ligero Chiselito
"One of the best"
This smaller size Chiselito is my favorite in this line. It burns quite a while for it's size, is very consistent and I can only describe the flavor as 'clean'. Strong but no overpowering at all.
Jason in Youngstown, OH June 26, 2011
La Flor Dominicana Double Ligero #700
"One of the best"
Recommended (if it's available) for full bodied lovers
Dany in MS March 29, 2011
La Flor Dominicana Double Ligero Churchill
"Can you handle it?"
This is one of my favorite cigars and the best in the LFD Double Ligero line. The La Flor Dominicana Double Ligero Chruchill Especiale Oscuro takes as long to smoke as it does to say. It's full of flavor, but don't let the smooth taste fool you. You can tell from the pre-light that this is not a cigar for a newbee or or a mild-medium smoker. The leather, pepper and earth can initially mask the power of the ligero binder and filler. But what I like best is the added richness of the oscuro wrapper. This is a handsome, well constructed, even burning smoke that you will love. If you can handle it!
Greg in Maryland February 22, 2011
La Flor Dominicana Double Ligero Chisel
"Smooth, rich, and STRONG"
This was my first LFD and it is an incredible cigar. Right from the beginning it is smooth and flavorful with the slightest bite. Rich in leather with light mocha hints further on. About 1/3 of the way down is when the buzz hits with out warning. I can see why some not prepared might feel a bit queezy. This was one superb smoke but boy does it pack a punch!!
Tom R in New Mexico February 10, 2011
La Flor Dominicana Double Ligero Chisel
"Best Freaking Cigar (from Dominica) Ever!"
I have had the pleasure of tasting cigars from all over the planet. I absolutely love authentic Cuban cigars... however... yes, in this case there is a however, the La Flor Dominicana Double Ligero Chisel cigar has got to be one of the best cigars I have ever smoked. It is a bit pricey for a Dominican, but it is well worth it. I usually end up smoking these till they literally burn my fingers... yes, that good. These cigars go way beyond full-bodied and should be smoked outside with a nice breeze going, preferably in the evening, with a nice glass of peaty Scotch and on a full stomach. It should take a few hours to smoke one of these, do not rush it or you won't be able to finish it. It takes me 2 1/2 hours roughly to smoke one of these and I enjoy every hit. This is absolutely an astounding cigar. Now, if you don't mind, I'm going to buy a box of 10.
Mark Torrence in United States November 18, 2010
La Flor Dominicana Double Ligero #600
"My favorite everday cigar"
I just love this cigar! I can't get enough of it.
Rose in Virginia September 1, 2010
La Flor Dominicana Double Ligero Chisel
"Full review by the Sasquatch: La Flor Dominicana D"
The strength of a honey bee is not in the sting but in the wing. Bees appear to be aerodynamically incapable of flight. But they don?t let that bother them. They overcome gravity, not just with furious flapping of their undersized wings, but with a tiny, nearly imperceptible flourish at the peak of each wing stroke that shifts the balance of air pressure just enough to send them airborne. There?s a lot of talk about the distinction between strength and power. Power comes from position or influence, strength comes from effort and sacrifice, from willpower and drive. Of course, such platitudes are the stuff of motivational posters and army recruitment videos. But there?s a reason for that. There is strength in might, but also in tenderness. There?s strength in passion and in subtlety. And there?s strength in control. A car?s power comes from the engine, but where would we be without brakes? The La Flor Dominicana Chisel (6?54) exemplifies strength in cigars, with power and control. There?s no doubt, this is an intense cigar, but there?s more there than just power. There are subtlety and nuance, and the acknowledgement that power is not enough. The Chisel features LFD?s signature all-ligero blend, with Dominican fillers and binder, and a dark oily Ecuadorian wrapper. I selected the dark natural, but it?s also available in a maduro. The most notable initial feature of the Chisel is its shape. It?s, well, a chisel, tapering to a half-inch wide point designed for a pleasant embouchure. There is some debate about the proper way to open the Chisel, whether to cut a notch across the ?blade? or to use a punch to open a hole in the flat ?face? near the end. Don?t do either of these. The Chisel can be opened by simply pinching the head of the cigar parallel to the axis of tip, creating a perfect slit opening. If you?re worried about the wrapper splitting or some other problem, don?t. It works perfectly every time. The draw from the pinch is open and light, with no cracking or splitting. The head can also be moistened, softening the capa, and further simplifying the procedure. The initial flavors are of intense dark tobacco, with heavy roasted earth and leather, and a hint of tangy bourbon. Pace yourself: you can feel a nicotine tingle from the heady ligeros. The burn wanders persistently, and requires regular maintenance, producing a gray ash which is flat and generally not well-formed. Within the second inch, the flavors developed a thick layer of dark caramelized wood, with an extraordinary deep, rich character which continues to darken and intensify throughout the long slow burn. The finish is long and oaky. I rate this cigar 8.6. It?s a unique figurado, with intensity and depth, strength and flavor. It loses points for persistent burn issues, which might improve with slightly drier aging. Until next time, this is the Cigar Sasquatch saying, ?Love what you smoke, and smoke what you love.? Full review available at the CigarSasquatch.com: http://www.cigarsasquatch.com/fullrev/cigar-sasquatch-la-flor-dominicana-double-ligero-chisel-6x54/ Nearly ALL cigars reviewed by the Squatch have been purchased through Famous. (Cigars that were not purchased through Famous were not available from Famous at that time.)
Tyson in Aliso Viejo, CA August 10, 2010
Previous Next
La Floridita Fuerte
Best Of - Samplers from your favorite manufacturers!