I hate saving money on cigarsX

SAVE UP TO 20%
on your next order
WHEN YOU SIGN UP TO RECEIVE OUR AWESOME EMAIL DEALS
 
Premium Cigars at Discount Prices! Order Toll Free: 1-800-564-2486 Contact Us
Sign Up

La Gloria Cubana Serie R #5 Reviews

90 consumerrating
average customer review
from 20 customers
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
95
Construction
87
Draw
90
Consistency
86
Appearance
93
Burn
83
Purchased this product? Share you thoughts with other customers:

write your own review
most helpful positive review
96 consumer rating
amazing
for La Gloria Cubana Serie R #5
by in ohio on September 16, 2013

When I lit the foot, I got a powerful, zesty note of chili powder. Upon lighting, that all changed to more of a smell of being inside a very old tree. It is a very earthy cigar with notes of oak, maybe a little bit on the dead side (in a good way!), every once in awhile I got that zesty hit. I tend to french inhale every 10 hits or so as to enjoy the full spectrum of smells and tastes. I also got notes of roasted chestnuts and a hit of dark chocolate. it showed some resistance with the draw at first. I decided to clip a hair more off the cap, and then it was perfect. It burned perfectly all the way to the last inch when I let it fade out. Oh, and I noted hints of leather through out the smoke. I received this stick with a sampler pack of 10 of assorted cigars, and let it rest in the humi for about 2 months. Its going on my list of cigars I plan on buying a box of in the future...for sure!

0 0
most helpful negative review
35 consumer rating
Quality has gone down!!!
for La Gloria Cubana Serie R #5
by in Maryland on August 4, 2009
Verified purchase

They were once the best full bodied cigar around! Less than half of each box is even smokable! Some are rolled so tight that they can never be smoked and the rest are like trying to smoke a tube. They are very inconsistent, lumpy bumpy misshapen and very disapointing. I have smoke thousands of these over the years and know what I'am talking about. The wrappers offten have holes and patches and some can destroy a cutter with the "sticks" rolled within! Don't waist your money!!! 2nd rate 2nds at best. The filler and binder are of the lowest quality and poorly aged tobacco to boot!!

0 0
recommended for you based on La Gloria Cubana Serie R #5
Results per page:
10
  • 24
  • 48
  • 72
  • 96
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
96 consumer rating
amazing
for La Gloria Cubana Serie R #5
by in ohio on September 16, 2013

When I lit the foot, I got a powerful, zesty note of chili powder. Upon lighting, that all changed to more of a smell of being inside a very old tree. It is a very earthy cigar with notes of oak, maybe a little bit on the dead side (in a good way!), every once in awhile I got that zesty hit. I tend to french inhale every 10 hits or so as to enjoy the full spectrum of smells and tastes. I also got notes of roasted chestnuts and a hit of dark chocolate. it showed some resistance with the draw at first. I decided to clip a hair more off the cap, and then it was perfect. It burned perfectly all the way to the last inch when I let it fade out. Oh, and I noted hints of leather through out the smoke. I received this stick with a sampler pack of 10 of assorted cigars, and let it rest in the humi for about 2 months. Its going on my list of cigars I plan on buying a box of in the future...for sure!

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
100
Draw
90
Consistency
100
Appearance
100
Burn
80
96 consumer rating
amazing
for La Gloria Cubana Serie R #5
by in ohio on September 15, 2013

When I lit the foot, I got a powerful, zesty note of chili powder. Upon lighting, that all changed to more of a smell of being inside a very old tree. It is a very earthy cigar with notes of oak, maybe a little bit on the dead side (in a good way!), every once in awhile I got that zesty hit. I tend to french inhale every 10 hits or so as to enjoy the full spectrum of smells and tastes. I also got notes of roasted chestnuts and a hit of dark chocolate. it showed some resistance with the draw at first. I decided to clip a hair more off the cap, and then it was perfect. It burned perfectly all the way to the last inch when I let it fade out. Oh, and I noted hints of leather through out the smoke. I received this stick with a sampler pack of 10 of assorted cigars, and let it rest in the humi for about 2 months. Its going on my list of cigars I plan on buying a box of in the future...for sure!

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
96 consumer rating
GREAT
for La Gloria Cubana Serie R #5
by in Kennebunk on June 22, 2013

had this after work great taste draw started a little tight but loosened up perfect burn ash fell off in a clump even after my dog bit it need to put a few more in my humidor

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
80
Draw
90
Consistency
80
Appearance
100
Burn
70
90 consumer rating
Exceptional aroma and taste.
for La Gloria Cubana Serie R #5
by in Kentucky on July 15, 2010

Just finished my 3rd Serie R #5 and truly enjoyed the taste and aroma...exceptional.Appearance is exceptional as well in the maduro wrapper. However, I was disappointed by the uneven burn and the amount of heat generated. I had no draw problems, but the construction/burn was fair to poor and the temperature of the cigar from beginning to end (approximately 1 1/2 inches from end...could not go further) and the smoke taken in, was much hotter to the tongue and palate than you would expect from a 52 ring Dominican. I smoke full flavor Hondurans mostly so the heat I experienced with this cigars was not due to inexperience. Doubt if I'll get anymore of these. For the price point, I much prefer the Kristoff maduro, Hoyo De Monterey, Oliva G or Punch line.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
40
Construction
10
Draw
30
Consistency
30
Appearance
50
Burn
40
35 consumer rating
Quality has gone down!!!
for La Gloria Cubana Serie R #5
by in Maryland on August 4, 2009
Verified purchase

They were once the best full bodied cigar around! Less than half of each box is even smokable! Some are rolled so tight that they can never be smoked and the rest are like trying to smoke a tube. They are very inconsistent, lumpy bumpy misshapen and very disapointing. I have smoke thousands of these over the years and know what I'am talking about. The wrappers offten have holes and patches and some can destroy a cutter with the "sticks" rolled within! Don't waist your money!!! 2nd rate 2nds at best. The filler and binder are of the lowest quality and poorly aged tobacco to boot!!

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
NR consumer rating
Delicious!!!
for La Gloria Cubana Serie R #5
by in Los Angeles, CA on March 22, 2009
Verified purchase

This may end up being one of my favorite cigars. Don?t let the initial slightly tight draw and lack of smoke volume discourage you? The cigar is so packed full of tobacco it takes about 2 or 3 minutes to warm up; after which the tobacco loosens up creating a very nice draw and due to the amount of dense tobacco delivers a very large volume of creamy smoke. I suggest using a guillotine cutter for more drawing surface as opposed to a punch to ensure the dense tobacco delivers an easy draw. I consider cigars to have primarily one of two flavor bases; spice & pepper or leather & chocolate?this one is for leather & chocolate lovers. This cigar will please those who want a hell of a lot of full rich flavor without being overwhelmed by strength; don?t get me wrong?this is not a morning smoke right out of bed; you should have a meal before indulging. I usually smoke any stick down to the ¾ mark to avoid the last bit taking on harsh qualities. I did not have to consider that with this cigar; it remained consistent down to the very nub; the only change was more flavor! I paired it with a Belgian beer and could tell it would do well with any amber or dark beer, coffee, cola or tea. This was my first time trying this cigar; I will try another next week and if it is consistent I will order a box.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
NR consumer rating
Used to be good but not anymore.
for La Gloria Cubana Serie R #5
by in CA on October 30, 2008
Verified purchase

The La Gloria Cubana Serie R #5 used to be great but now they are awful. Will not buy again until I see that changes have been made.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
NR consumer rating
Still the best
for La Gloria Cubana Serie R #5
by in Topeka, KS on December 23, 2007

I first started smoking these back in 2001, and at times they were hard to find and much more expensive. I have never tired of these oily, toothy, full-flavored beauties!!! These are exceptional cigars.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
NR consumer rating
!!!!!
for La Gloria Cubana Serie R #5
by in wi on May 15, 2007

I have developed a palate over the years for strength in my cigars and have tried quite a few. This one is by far the best for my tastes. Strength and body cannot be matched. Doesn't always burn well and the $ are up there but, as of now, I can still afford it. The only brand that I can smoke everyday and not desire something else! Well, maybe El Rico Habana.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
NR consumer rating
A TOP OF THE LINE QUALITY SMOKE
for La Gloria Cubana Serie R #5
by in AZ on February 1, 2007
Verified purchase

I have smoked many full bodied cigars over the 30 years of smoking cigars,but La Gloria Series R #5 is without a doubt the best constructed and all around quality smoke for the money.

0 0
Results per page:
10
  • 24
  • 48
  • 72
  • 96