Premium Cigars at Discount Prices! Order Toll Free: 1-800-564-2486 Contact Us
Sign Up

Oliva Cain Daytona Reviews

Showing 1 through 10 of 13 reviews

Oliva Cain Daytona Corona
"Best stick for the price hands down"
This is a powerful smooth cigar with a slow burn,at an hour in almost this cigar is only two inches down .I love the draw it has a velvety smooth texture to the smoke,a creamy woodsy peppery and leathery taste. I seriously dont know of any cigars that are $118 for a box that compare .I seriously was busy and didnt puff it for a few minutes and it took a quick rotation and a steady draw to re ignite ,burn isnt razor sharp but it doesnt need any touching up if you know how to properly smoke .I would rank this particular cigar a 95 only because its not a cigar that will wow you . I will say if you enjoy Nicaraguan smokes this is nothing to sleep on and at the price its a bargain. I taste no harshness, and it didnt stsrt off with that bitter flavor 60% of cigars have. I say buy a box and spark em up this has only been in the humidor two weeks and is very similar to the Cohiba Nicaragua minus the extreme pepper zing. I would take these over a tatuaje black any day .I hope you all realize how tasty these smokes are but the power is subtle .I would say if you like joya de nicaragua these taste identical to the antano with a more creamy finish . Also a tip when you cut this cigar dont take off but a silver and you will have a smaller ring which maximizes the flavor you will experience too many cut off a cigar way to far and Ive done it before these smokes are worth far more than the selling price .
robert in Sayre, Oklahoma September 17, 2014
Oliva Cain Daytona Corona
"Not bad, but not great."
Great construction and burn. Nice even burn. Flavor is not bad, but it s not great either. Solid medium flavor with a lot of white smoke. Slight occasional spice but predominately woody flavor. Fairly strong Nicotine for the medium body. Overall, not bad, but for the price range I prefer some of the other budget friendly Oliva cigars. I was hoping this would be more like the flavor profile as the Oliva inferno due to all the ligero, which I enjoyed much more. For the price I would prefer an Oliva Inferno. Not bad for a sampler and a casual outside/beach smoke, but I probably won t buy them over other sticks in the price range.
Jim in Wilmington, NC July 9, 2014
Oliva Cain Daytona No. 4
"Too harsh for me"
It s a nice cigar, but... to harsh for me, it s not my style, but that s me. :
Vasil in CA June 8, 2014
Oliva Cain Daytona Corona
"Pleasantly surprised"
This was a great medium bodied smoke. Great draw and flavor. The draw was perfect and construction wasn t bad. The ash got up to about 2 inches before falling off. This made for a very enjoyable after dinner smoke.
Deke in Los Angeles December 14, 2013
Oliva Cain Daytona Robusto 5 pack
"New Daily Smoke"
I love this smoke. The burn is even, the ash is nice and flavor is very good, balanced, and consistent. This cigar has become my daily go to cigar. I have three humidors with this cigar in each so I am never without wherever I go.
Craig in Sylvania, Ohio August 23, 2013
Oliva Cain Daytona Corona
"Not very good"
I cut it in half and it started falling apart. The taste is rough and not very good. May work with overly peaty scotch, but so would a much more complex Maduro. Spend your money somewhere else.
Stefan in San Francisco August 21, 2013
Oliva Cain Daytona Corona
"Good but not great"
I got a couple of these sticks in a sampler pack. Burn was great, draw was perfect. The strength was just fine. This issue was that the flavors did not really develop much, even half way down. I like Olivia cigars and they always have a place in my humidor, however I don't think I will be buying a box of these. Perhaps I just had a bum stick, I will try the other one in a week or so and see how that goes.
Christopher in Midwest USA March 1, 2013
Oliva Cain Daytona No. 4
"good 35 minutes"
Medium light smooth wrapper, easy to cut, good pre light draw with hints of peppery woody spice. Burn was consistent and didn't need any touch ups, 1st third has an earthy spice, 2nd third the spice died off some, more earthy notes on the finish, last 3rd the spice came back but not as prominent as the 1st, and the earthy tones persisted, to me a solid medium stick worth the $4-$5, Great pairing with your morning Joe. A solid 87+ rating from me, smoked 4 of the 5r I bought a few months back, and each with the same result, might age well?
DC in Los Angeles February 8, 2013
Oliva Cain Daytona Torpedo
"Cain Daytona a bit of a let down"
(read all of my cigar reviews on "The Burn Notice" at: http://fatalhalocigars/blogspot.com) I read that this cigar was on Cigar Journal?s Top 25 list, so I figured I?d give it a shot and see what it was all about. Cigars by Olivia have never really been exceptional in my experience, but knowing that each blend has different characteristics and nuances, I?m certainly not going to pass up an opportunity to explore further ? and being that this cigar rated pretty high among the others, I?m interested to see what it has to offer. Noted as a more ?mild? smoke than others in its brand, it may provide just the cut off the top I?m looking for. PRE-SMOKE ANALYSIS The wrapper itself is almost seamlessly rolled ? looks as if it were rolled from a single leaf with no seams or breaks anywhere to be seen. Very nice job. The Habano wrapper itself is a little veiny, but doesn?t feel that way when I run my fingers along it. Very smooth and delicate. The aroma coming off of the wrapper is exquisite. Very aromatic. It has a sweet yet earthy aroma to it that is very pleasing indeed. The tightly bunched tobacco at the foot looks like the cross section of a fallen tree and I?m tempted just for a moment to count the rings as if that will be any prediction as for what?s in store! The strengthened aroma coming off of the foot is a little more earthy and roasted, but still very enticing. THE FIRST THIRD The cap clipped cleanly with no fraying and the cigar took the flame from my torch well and the draw was surprisingly perfect for a torpedo. Occasionally I?ll have some difficulty with drawing off of a torpedo because my guillotine cutter tends to smash the tobacco together and makes it hard for any smoke to pass through, but this one seems to be just fine for now. I wonder if it has anything to do with the way the ligero filler is rolled? It was certainly impressive to see it so finely packed at the foot before lighting it. The first draw was a little strong, so I?m sampling it gently as the burn begins to even out. The aroma is unique to anything I?ve smoked before ? somewhat difficult to pinpoint specific flavors, but I?m picking up a sweetness blended with coffee and spice which is very satisfying. That earthy/cedar-like aroma that was present on the pre-smoke is certainly still evident and even more pronounced now. Though the Daytona is toted as being more on the mild side, it will still likely pack a punch to the inexperienced smoker, but the flavors are certainly worth experiencing for yourself. THE SECOND THIRD I am starting to have some real difficulty keeping this cigar lit ? and I?m beginning to wonder if the torpedo cap is mostly to blame. I?ve had to correct the burn several times, relight once and re-clip the cap to try and get a better draw. The flavors remained pretty consistent throughout this segment of the cigar. Smoke was thick and heavy, but full of flavor ? particularly pepper and spice. I really have to draw hard on it and give it a good couple of puffs before I get any substantial smoke to sample though. I?m beginning to wonder if the number of times I?m having to torch this cigar to keep it lit and to keep the burn even is charring the tobacco and affecting the flavor though as it is beginning to leave a bit of a bitter taste on my palate. BURNING OUT The flavors have remained consistent right up until the end. Nothing notable or revolutionary about it in my opinion. It is a milder version of some of the other Olivia cigars I?ve had in the past, but it wasn?t as complex a cigar as I was expecting it to be. FINAL THOUGHTS Overall, I was a bit disappointed with this one and not sure if the Olivia brand is really one I appreciate as much as the others. The cigar started off very well, but the trouble I had keeping it lit was maddening and really detracted from the overall experience. It was constantly canoeing in the burn and I?m sure at least half of the cigar was burned up just in the process of relighting and correcting it. Looking past the difficulty I had with that, the aromas and flavors just weren?t packing that punch I like to have in a cigar. Consistency is generally a good thing for some brands, but I was expecting more considering how highly it was rated by more experienced connoisseurs than myself. On the appearance and construction aspect, I give this cigar high marks, but the real proof of quality should always be on the smoking experience and for this one I feel it was a bit of a let down. I would like to think that maybe a different shaped cigar of this same line may smoke more evenly so I can give it a proper review, but I don?t see myself looking into buying another one any time in the near future. Liked It?: I?ve had worse. Buy It Again?: Not likely. Recommend It?: Probably not.
John Wright in Columbus, Ohio February 15, 2012
Oliva Cain Daytona Corona
"One of my new favorites"
Great flavor, very consistent burn, nice draw. Medium bodied. My humidor is always stocked with this one. Big fan of Cain and Sam L.
Rick in Milton, PA June 26, 2011
Next
La Floridita Fuerte
On Sale - See whats on sale now and save!