I hate saving money on cigarsX

SAVE UP TO 20%
on your next order
WHEN YOU SIGN UP TO RECEIVE OUR AWESOME EMAIL DEALS
 
Premium Cigars at Discount Prices! Order Toll Free: 1-800-564-2486 Contact Us
Sign Up

Oliva Serie V Melanio Reviews

93 consumerrating
average customer review
from 23 customers
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
92
Construction
96
Draw
95
Consistency
95
Appearance
96
Burn
94
Buy Oliva Serie V Melanio Cigars online at discount prices here at Famous Smoke Shop - your source for Oliva Serie V Melanio Cigars.
most helpful positive review
100 consumer rating
Best desert stick
for Oliva Serie V Melanio Churchill
by in Fairview Heights, IL on September 2, 2013

The Oliva Serie V Melanio 7x50, in Churchill, is a cigar that?s sure to please even the most demanding smoker. It comes in with a very glove soft tan wrapper smelling like chocolate and hay with a very nice double cap. It?s a very good looking box pressed stick that?s nice and spongy to the touch. Fresh off the light it gives a very soft, creamy textured smoke with a nice aged tobacco flavor with a note of chocolate. Perfect draw and short finish with a medium body. 15 minutes in almost an inch down, I?m getting very smooth soft earth, cream flavor, and a hint of chocolate that blends in through the finish. 45 minutes in getting a bit of a transition and a nice complex blend of flavors. On the draw is a chocolate, caramel sweetness, with a slightly sweet almost salty coffee that comes in on the finish with the chocolate that also blends through with the coffee. Construction so far is perfect. 1 hour in almost to the first band and giving a small shift in flavor has taken place. The salt in the coffee is gone, the caramel is almost gone, and the chocolate is still blending with the coffee. The profile of the flavors are getting richer while keeping the elegant smoothness of the smoke. Construction and draw are both still perfect. 1 hour 25 minutes in it decided to go out. Very odd and an unexpected surprise. No tunneling or anything like that going on. After the relight the coffee and chocolate are still going strong and a bit of a cream flavor has now came back into the mix. 1 hour 50 minutes in ash fell of in a solid chunk. Burn got a little uneven, but self corrected and no need for a touch up. So far the coffee and chocolate are still blending and now a nice nut flavour has come in. I?m almost detecting a hint of vanilla on the finish. Still a solid medium body. Both bands came off the cigar with no damage to the wrapper. 2 hours 25 minutes in the coffee and nut is the only thing left and they hold through the finish. Everything is perfect about this smoke other than the minor relight issue. Conclusion: Please give these a try. A great almost desert like stick. No complaints at all. I will be buying these in the future. -Fecto

5 0
most recent review
NR consumer rating
Another awesome cigar from Oliva
for Oliva V Melanio Double Toro
by in Livermore, CA on February 26, 2015
Verified purchase

I normally don t smoke cigars beyond a ring gauge beyond 56 this was my only option to try the Oliva V Melanio. Definitely hit the spot in the satisfied department. Plenty of smoke output with hints of coco and creme. I really enjoyed this smoke and for once I agree with Cigar Aficionado giving this cigar the number one rating which normally I disagree with . Definitely worth picking up and better than other overrated cigars such as the Opus X.

0 0
recommended for you based on Oliva Serie V Melanio
Results per page:
10
  • 24
  • 48
  • 72
  • 96
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
NR consumer rating
Another awesome cigar from Oliva
for Oliva V Melanio Double Toro
by in Livermore, CA on February 26, 2015
Verified purchase

I normally don t smoke cigars beyond a ring gauge beyond 56 this was my only option to try the Oliva V Melanio. Definitely hit the spot in the satisfied department. Plenty of smoke output with hints of coco and creme. I really enjoyed this smoke and for once I agree with Cigar Aficionado giving this cigar the number one rating which normally I disagree with . Definitely worth picking up and better than other overrated cigars such as the Opus X.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
100
Draw
100
Consistency
100
Appearance
100
Burn
100
100 consumer rating
The Hype And Beyond
for Oliva V Melanio Double Toro
by in Prescott on January 18, 2015
Verified purchase

Like so many, I thought I would give these a try. The Figurardo is on back order so I decided to try this version. All I can say is I just ordered two boxes! If the Figurados are as good as these, I will have to make serious room in my humidors. I absolutely love Padron 1926s but these are outstanding in every way. Incredible.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
90
Draw
100
Consistency
100
Appearance
100
Burn
100
98 consumer rating
Best Tobacco Ever Tasted
for Oliva Serie V Melanio Torpedo
by in Virginia on June 15, 2014
Verified purchase

I have given this cigar my top smoke of the decade award. After smoking my third box it is my go-to cigar for the ultimate smoking experience. The construction is impeccable thus the draw is effortless and full. I am amazed at the consistency from this maker. The flavor is full, nutty and sweet. Complex flavor profile yet simply elegant and enjoyable on the mouth. The burn on this bad boy is a true ring from start to finish with a firm ash. I can find nothing wanting in smoking this sensual lady of a cigar.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
70
Construction
100
Draw
100
Consistency
80
Appearance
90
Burn
100
85 consumer rating
Thin flavors
for Oliva Serie V Melanio Petit Corona
by in City by the Bay on May 15, 2014

After a month at about 69% RH and 69° F this exhibited an excellent draw through a bullet hole, and a solid burnline. Full in terms of strength, but mild-to-medium flavor-wise, showing mostly hints of wood that paired alright with an Amontillado sherry. Burned for about 40 minutes. I do prefer the flavor profile of the Robusto without doubt. 90+ points

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
NR consumer rating
Outstanding construction
for Oliva Serie V Melanio Petit Corona
by in City by the Bay on April 16, 2014

Interestingly this was a wee different than the 5x52. Better build, and thus with a longer lasting burn. Showing more focused flavors as well: woodsy during the first third, more floral during the second. Nutty aftertaste. Burned for about 50 minutes. Outstanding overall, but I missed the airy floral aromatics of the Robusto. Now I m curious about the Figurado...

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
90
Draw
100
Consistency
90
Appearance
100
Burn
100
97 consumer rating
Sweet smoke, literally!!!
for Oliva Serie V Melanio 2013 Torpedo
by in Chicago on April 10, 2014

I m a huge fan of the Serie V, so I may be a tad biased, but the Melanio is top notch. Love the natural, but the maduro adds that little sweet touch. So smooth, great aroma, excellent burn, just the right resistance on the draw. A definite stick to try if you re a maduro fan. Happy smoking!!

1 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
NR consumer rating
yuck
for Oliva Serie V Melanio 2013 Torpedo
by in ak on April 2, 2014
Verified purchase

I did not like this cigar. it had no flavor, imho. I will stick to rocky patel patel bros.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
90
Construction
100
Draw
100
Consistency
80
Appearance
90
Burn
80
90 consumer rating
Good tobacco but..
for Oliva Serie V Melanio Robusto
by in City by the Bay on February 26, 2014
Verified purchase

...it s really more of a medium than a full cigar. After two months at about 69% RH this got hard -- almost as hard as the Master Blends 3 I recently got from Famous, but less tightly packed. Strong Ligero during the first third, and then the wood flavor finally kicked in on the second third. Overall, I found this to have more nicotine and less flavor than the MB3, which I prefer. Much less floral notes if at all than two months ago. 98 points for the construction + 89 for the flavor = 90 points final score. At the end of the night, I found myself wanting more body, so I lid up a Padilla La Reserva.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
70
Construction
90
Draw
80
Consistency
90
Appearance
90
Burn
90
81 consumer rating
Worst cigar I have ever had
for Oliva Serie V Melanio Petit Corona
by in New Zealand on January 22, 2014
Verified purchase

I was looking forward to these having had other Oliva Cigars. This is the worst cigar I Have ever had. Dry, bland, and one dimensional. I hope that it was a dud and the other 9 will be ok. Great packaging, there was even a hydration pack in the box between two wood layers. Shame the cigar wasn t so good. Such a letdown after having cain nubs, and the other nubs. no creaminess, such a shame, hope a few months in the humidor and they maybe will come right.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
90
Construction
80
Draw
70
Consistency
100
Appearance
100
Burn
90
88 consumer rating
Strong, medium-full Ligero
for Oliva Serie V Melanio Robusto
by in on January 6, 2014
Verified purchase

One month later, and after having spent the last week at 55% RH, this aged tobacco stick still tastes green, with the nicotine from the Ligero overwhelming any flavors during the first third, after which flavors of toasted almonds and walnuts emerged, and then sandalwood around the middle. The smoke isn t drying, but the nicotine demands water. Felt a little wet , and draw was a tad tighter than preferred. Almost went out on me twice in the beginning, and then finally on the second half -- surprising given that it s loosely packed. Turns bitter at the nub. Need to wait another 3 months before trying again, and maybe dry box at 50% for two weeks. Best enjoyed on a clean palate. Burns fast, but very cleanly, and I love the shape and size.

0 0
Results per page:
10
  • 24
  • 48
  • 72
  • 96