Premium Cigars at Discount Prices! Order Toll Free: 1-800-564-2486 Contact Us
Sign Up

Onyx Reserve Robusto Reviews [view details]

Give us YOUR review!

Showing 1 through 10 of 31 reviews

"Excellent, but I prefer the Belicoso"
Draw was waaay too tight in the beginning, but after some massaging the stick loosened up becoming almost spongy by the midpoint. The last third was the best flavor-wise, but unfortunately it was too shortly lived. The whole burn time was about 45 minutes. 88 points [flavor-wise, 85 points for the first half, and 90 points for the last third].
Stefan in City by the Bay April 30, 2014
"Tasty!"
A pretty tasty cigar for the price. Spicy, peppery flavors. I was annoyed at how tightly rolled one of the cigars was but a slight bite on the head and I was good to go.
Daniel in California June 23, 2013
""Very good! Not great""
Very good look and feel, good draw, but way to spongy! Maybe to overcome the bad draw issues, dark ash typical in piloto cubano, sweet,spicy and creamy...I will buy it again...
Carlos Pimentel in dominican republic April 7, 2013
"A little over rated"
Appearance looked good, firm yet spongy to the squeeze. Handsome looking cigar. Elegant black gold and white banner. Good burn easy draw. It started out smooth and gradually gave its true blend. It released a gal/tar bitter taste throughout. I think this cigar will appeal to many pallets, but not mine. I?'ll stay with my PDR 1878 Reserva Dominicana Capa Habana.
Ed in Madison, Ohio March 18, 2013
"great smoke but"
sometimes the roll is way to tight bad draw but when good the cigar is awesome.
coz in seattle January 25, 2013
"Too tight"
The #4 is one of my favorites. However this one has too tight of a draw. the tobacco flavor isn't that great and its missing the cocoa and nut flavor that make me love the #4. Pass this one up for now. Its not that great.
Ian in Columbus,Ohio April 28, 2012
"Pedestrian Smok"
This stick has an overly hard draw, intermediate construction qualities, and a very pedestrian flavor palette.
Big John in Virginia August 7, 2011
"??????????"
Burn problems, construction problems, draw problems, you get the idea? I don't like to bash cigars but this one deserves it. Don't let the ratings fool you, try one before you buy A box.
Rodney Beckom in Rockmart Ga. February 25, 2011
"Great Baseline Cigar Great starting point."
The Onyx Reserve is a good baseline cigar from which to judge the other great ones from. Better than the Punch Elite, not as good as a Padron' or a Rocky Patel. A 90 or A- Cigar. I bought a box of these and I was happy with them but not overly elated. They are a great place for a person who likes Maduro's to start from. I like them; never the less, no matter what the shape, color, or brand, never forget, that in the end the best reviewer is Yourself.
obiken in Wilsonville, Or January 8, 2011
"Boom. Always a great smoke"
Onyx was the first cigar I blew a smoke ring on 12 years ago. This dark, yet smooth and nutty stick has always been a favorite. The draw is a bit tough due to dense construction, yet this construction always leads to a good even burn so I just cut a bit bigger cut and don't worry too much about it. Highly recommended.
Murdoc in Bay Area, CA December 18, 2009
Next
Customer Ratings

10 Burn (86) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Consistency (86) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Draw (83) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Appearance (95) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Taste (93) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Construction (91) 100
Poor - Excellent


Test Flights - Samplers from dozens of brands!
Its time to PUMP UP the savings