Premium Cigars at Discount Prices! Order Toll Free: 1-800-564-2486 Contact Us
Sign Up

Rocky Patel Sun Grown Robusto Reviews [view details]

Give us YOUR review!

Showing 11 through 20 of 20 reviews

"excellent smoke"
the RP sun grown has become a recent favorite. excellent cigar... gobs of smoke, full-bodied, creamy with a bit of spice. as stated by another reviewer they can be a tad inconsistent. the first one i smoked had a very tight draw, but the rest have been very good. for the money they are a great value. top notch and highly recommended.
~t in berkeley, ca January 9, 2010
"What can i say...BUT.."
well... what can i say?... it's a rocky. Perhaps i've grown acustomed to getting a premium smoke from RP. Perhaps quality is important at RP...i've yet to discover anything from RP to suggest otherwise. When it comes to Rocky Patel cigars you will rarely be dissapointed. You may not like the strength, or flavour of a RP stick.. but you can never discount the quality. The RP "sun grown" robusto is one such stick for me. It's a great stick that has a great appearance, quality constructed, flavourful stick. The sun grown is less smooth than other RP brands, perhaps it is the intent of RP to have created a stick for people who like a bite to their cigars. The burn was even to the end. The ash was a very light grey, not very firm though(dropped around 3/4- 1 in.) surprisingly, the sitck didn't get hot until the last inch of smoking. Like i have said this is another quality stick from those fine folks at RP.. it's just not my cup of tea. I doubt i'll be restocking these.. will smoke them if recieve in a sampler or special offer. They really are a good smoke, i just don't like the flavor, and bite i get from these.. try a five pack, you might love these!!
D. Tennant in winter haven August 16, 2008
"FOREVER SILKY"
UPON OPENING FELT SMOOTH AS A BABIES BUTT. LIT IT AND WAS HIT WITH A SMOOTH RICH AND SILKY TASTE. GREAT DRAW AND CREAMY FLAVOR. WAS ONE OF THE BEST BURNS OF ANY CIGAR EVER. WAS STRAIGHT AND TRUE HALFWAY DOWN THE PIKE. HAD TO FORCE IT OFF THE STICK. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
LEE in NEW JERSEY June 30, 2008
"Smooth medium body smoke"
RP Sun Grown is a great med body smoke. Not as strong as The Edge but quite tasty. The soft red wrapper is outstanding
John C in Bristow VA January 19, 2008
"Flavorful and smooth"
Like TJJ said, I was also "pleasantly surprised" by this cigar. I've been smoking cigars for the last 10 years or so, but only seriously for the last year. I think that this is definitely a cigar for both the beginner and the seasoned afficionado alike. I got it through the auction as part of an RP mixed 5-pack, where I was more interested in the Edge Lite and the '92 Vintage that were included, but this one was the first one that I smoked and it made my night. Copious amounts of smoke, nice even burn and draw, and just a touch of spice in the last third. A nice medium-bodied cigar. I would give it an 8 1/2 to a 9.
brewerpac in Baltimore MD December 29, 2007
"Wonderful Smoke"
I tried this cigar on a whim and believe it is one of the finest cigars I've ever had. Each cigar is very consistent with a wonderful aroma and smooth tast all the way to the end.
Bob K in Green Valley, AZ July 21, 2007
"Oh, my God."
I've only been smoking good cigars for about a year now, but this Rocky Patel Sun Grown Robusto just wowed me. Excellent draw, consistent burn, smooth, a little spice and just enough sweetness. I bought a 5 pack. I'm going for a box next time. Excellent, excellent.
Keith Burgin in California March 8, 2007
"Outstanding medium to full body"
I was pleasantly suprised by this cigar. The 5 pack was a freebe. I have subsequently ordered a box of the Toros to add to my humidor. Reminds me a lot of a Cuban Punch I had recently. A solid 9 in my estimation.
TJJ in Leonard, Mi February 8, 2007
"Excellent flavor, good draw,nice aroma"
When I smoke this cigar, I get many comments on how nice the aroma is.
Tom Pintabone in Easton, Pa. August 28, 2005
"Damn fine cigar"
I got this cigar in a sampler pack and what a surprise - this was a damn good cigar! The burn was perfect. It starts out peppery and then mellows out towards the end. Very earthy finish. I smoked it down to the nub with no problems at all. Imight try a five pack.
Bill in CT July 11, 2005
Previous
Customer Ratings

10 Burn (89) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Consistency (89) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Draw (92) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Appearance (95) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Taste (93) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Construction (92) 100
Poor - Excellent


Evolution by Rocky Patel
Create-A-Sampler - Create YOUR ultimate sampler and save!