Premium Cigars at Discount Prices! Order Toll Free: 1-800-564-2486 Contact Us
Sign Up

Rocky Patel Vintage 1990 Robusto Reviews [view details]

Give us YOUR review!

Showing 11 through 20 of 55 reviews

"Amazing!!!"
Great cigar. Immediately became a favorite of mine. Will be purchasing more and will recommend to every cigar smoker I know.
Dylan in Indianapolis May 5, 2012
"Signature Smoke!"
This cigar is by far my favorite. I have yet to get a bad stick as others have mentioned. The closer you get to the end the better it gets. I smoke these down to the nub. My thought is this cigar may be too complex for the novice or unknowing smoker. The profile of the cigar changes and in my opinion every change adds to the already incredible flavor. This thing is a straight 10!
ChuckB in Baltimore December 28, 2011
"Enjoyable cigar"
I have enjoyed several of the Rocky Patels on the patio. Smooth and robust. Gathered more flavors as it burned of chestnut and charred cedar. I do prefer a large ring size for a robusto.
Darrin S in Arizona August 17, 2011
"Great Cigar!"
One of the best!
in August 8, 2011
"Another one note flop from Rocky"
I've tried over and over to enjoy cigars by Rocky but they always fall short. This was no exception, poor draw, poor burn, maybe 4-5 puffs of reasonable flavour, the rest of the cigar was acrid and harsh. I finally threw it away after 2/3. This particular cigar has been aging for over a year and was the last of five, none of which were enjoyable.
Dalydog in Toronto March 12, 2011
"It just doesn't get any better"
This cigar put me on the RP bandwagon in a hurry. It's extremely smooth, yet filled with rich, complex flavor. This is hands down my new "stranded on a desert island" smoke.
Tre in Charlote, NC November 16, 2010
"Vintage Perfection..."
Rockys 1990 Vintage is a work of art, exceptional blending and construction flawless in every way. you are missing a cigar that will stand the test of time if you do not try one. Excellent burn, draw, and a 10 for looks, flavors of earth, mild leather and spice with snips of cedar... mild to med strength a perfect cigar. The Vintage 1990 cigar is worth every penny I would buy them at any amount, a solid 10. do yourself a favor so you have no regrets and smoke a True Classic.
Ken C in Sammamish Washington August 29, 2010
"My Absolute Favorite Cigar"
I received one of these in a sampler. It blew all of the other selections away! I ordered some more along with another more expensive cigar, and again, the Vintage 1990 Robusto left the other in teh dust. I wish these were less expensive (of course) but it is definitely my first choice for a great smoke.
Jimmy G in New York August 27, 2010
"Full Review by the Sasquatch, Rocky Patel Vintage"
Like any other cryptozoological cigar lover, the Cigar Sasquatch loves a pleasant surprise. But when it comes in the form of an incredible cigar, when I expected just an above-average smoke, well, then I get really excited. We?ve talked about expectations before, and the dangers of having them unmet. But thankfully, sometimes the opposite is true. I once read that one of the greatest joys in life is doing a kindness in secret, and having it discovered by accident. A similar joy is when we experience some wonderful occurrence which was entirely unlooked for. Now I don?t want to sell this up too much. I?ve smoked a lot of Rocky Patel cigars, and many of them are quite good. In fact, a lot of them are great, but with a product line a broad as that being produced by Rocky Patel, there?s bound to be some dissent among cigar lovers about what the best is. Allow me to settle the debate. I parked the Rocky Patel Vintage 1990 Robusto (5?x50) in the Sasquatch-a-Dor 2 years ago, and figured I?d get around to it at some point when there wasn?t some other Rocky I was drooling over. I figured it would be another Rocky, solid and reliable, but with so many others to try, something that I would ?get to when I got to.? Big mistake. The blend features a mix of 5-year aged Dominican and Nicaraguan fillers. So far, so good. But then it?s wrapped in an incredible 15-year aged Honduran broadleaf wrapper. You read that right, 15-year aged. And let?s talk about that wrapper. At first glance you?d think it was a Colorado. It?s got a handsome reddish hue, and meaty look. But it?s technically a maduro, in fact a broadleaf varietal, which should mean a rich, round, subtly sweet but altogether smooth character. Which it has. But it?s also a Honduran-grown leaf, meaning it should show a roasted, oaky, robust depth. Which it does. Now age it from the time of the Clinton administration, and you know you?re in for a rare treat. But the flavor and body of a cigar doesn?t just come from the wrapper. In this case, the Dominican and Nicaraguan fillers add a toasty, nutty almond flavor that balances the roundness of the broadleaf, and what you?re left with is a remarkably complex, smooth smoking, rich tasting, delightfully mellow cigar that begs to be smoked again and again and again. The roll is firm and smooth, box-pressed, with light veining. The draw from a cap cut is lightly open, and produces a large volume of smoke with moderate strength. The burn wandered slightly, but self-corrected, producing a flaky white ash, and smoking to a cool 2-inch nub in just over an hour. I easily rate this cigar 9.4. I can?t wait to smoke the 6?60 in this blend, currently mellowing in the depths of the Sasquatch-a-Dor. We all love a good surprise, and even more, we love when something we hope to be good turns out instead to be great. But if I had really done my homework, the greatness of this cigar shouldn?t have been a surprise at all. It?s right there in the blend. Until next time, this is the Cigar Sasquatch saying, ?Love what you smoke, and smoke what you love.? Full review available at the CigarSasquatch.com: http://www.cigarsasquatch.com/robustos/cigar-sasquatch-rocky-patel-vintage-1990-robusto/ Nearly ALL cigars reviewed by the Squatch have been purchased through Famous. (Cigars that were not purchased through Famous were not available from Famous at that time.)
Tyson in Aliso Viejo, CA August 9, 2010
"Total newbie..."
...and I don't know jack about cigars, but I know I like these!
Ken F. in Azusa, CA April 20, 2010
Previous Next
Customer Ratings

10 Burn (92) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Consistency (93) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Draw (93) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Appearance (96) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Taste (95) 100
Poor - Excellent

10 Construction (95) 100
Poor - Excellent


New Cigars - See all Famous’ latest and greatest!
Its time to PUMP UP the savings