Cigar Deals!Offer

Alec Bradley Medalist Reviews

67rated
44 reviews
67% of reviewers recommend this product
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
55
Construction
58
Draw
56
Consistency
71
Appearance
79
Burn
55
Buy Alec Bradley Medalist Cigars online at discount prices here at Famous Smoke Shop - your source for Alec Bradley Medalist Cigars.
most helpful positive review
95 rated
Superb!
for A/B Medalist Cuban Belicoso
by in Canal Fulton, OH on February 22, 2007
Verified purchase

I've purchased from Famous several times before, but this is my first review. I read several positive reviews about the Medalist and since I love a good maduro, decided to try a box. I tried to give these well crafted beauties a rest time in the humi, but had to try one right out of the box. What a treat! To run the cigar under your nose is a pleasure in itself; chocolate and coffee scents abound. The prelight draw is perfect and preps the palate for a true smoking experience. It lights easily and has a perfect draw; not too easy and not tight at all. The smoke stays consistantly cool and flavorful, and booms out huge clouds with each puff. The ash is nicely layered; dark and light grey and hangs on like a pit bull on a steak, coming off in a clean chuck after I tapped it at about an inch and a half down. The flavor is wonderful throughout, with a touch of sweetness that I so love in maduro wrappers and not a bit of that nasty sting on the tongue you can get from lesser cigars. The burn is nice too, staying pretty even all the way down. The three I've smoked so far have all been wonderful, tasty and consistent. The finish is long, leaving a pleasant coffee/cocao/tobacco taste in your mouth afterwards. I hope Alec Bradley continues to make this blend and I've already ordered a second box. I highly recommend this cigar if you like a full flavored maduro. Extremely tasty!

0 0
most helpful negative review
47 rated
Occasionally a hit, but too often a miss
for Alec Bradley Medalist Gordo
by in Milwaukie on August 18, 2009
Verified purchase

This smoke has got to be one of the most frustrating love hate relationships I've ever been involved in. One day they reward with a mellow complex smoke that really makes me stop and say "WOW, that's why I smoke these". Other times I wonder why I'm wasting my precious cigar smoking time on these nightmares. Some are nicely rolled and burn beautifully, with a perfect draw and volumes of smoke. Others can be so soggy I can just about fold the ammoniated suckers in half. Yup, I think I'm done with these. Look for them on a clearance shelf near you. "Life is too short for a bad cigar".

0 0
Recommended for you based on Alec Bradley Medalist
Prev 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
95rated
Superb!
for A/B Medalist Cuban Belicoso
by John J. in Canal Fulton, OH on February 22, 2007
Verified purchase

I've purchased from Famous several times before, but this is my first review. I read several positive reviews about the Medalist and since I love a good maduro, decided to try a box. I tried to give these well crafted beauties a rest time in the humi, but had to try one right out of the box. What a treat! To run the cigar under your nose is a pleasure in itself; chocolate and coffee scents abound. The prelight draw is perfect and preps the palate for a true smoking experience. It lights easily and has a perfect draw; not too easy and not tight at all. The smoke stays consistantly cool and flavorful, and booms out huge clouds with each puff. The ash is nicely layered; dark and light grey and hangs on like a pit bull on a steak, coming off in a clean chuck after I tapped it at about an inch and a half down. The flavor is wonderful throughout, with a touch of sweetness that I so love in maduro wrappers and not a bit of that nasty sting on the tongue you can get from lesser cigars. The burn is nice too, staying pretty even all the way down. The three I've smoked so far have all been wonderful, tasty and consistent. The finish is long, leaving a pleasant coffee/cocao/tobacco taste in your mouth afterwards. I hope Alec Bradley continues to make this blend and I've already ordered a second box. I highly recommend this cigar if you like a full flavored maduro. Extremely tasty!

... read more
00
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
90
Draw
100
Consistency
90
Appearance
90
Burn
90
95rated
This Cigar is a MUST for Full Body Flavor
for Alec Bradley Medalist Churchill
by Dan in Hillsboro, OR on January 13, 2006
Verified purchase

I just got my order today (011306). I opened the box and the aroma was sensational. I couldn't wait to try one. I can see why Gary says they are his new favorite. It definetly made my list of favorites. Construction is great, burns great, nice gray ash. The draw was exceptional, taste was full yet smooth. I would recommend this cigar for new and old time cigar smokers. Worth every cent. I wish these came in boxes of twenty, ten won't last very long. Already ordered another box.

... read more
00
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
90
Draw
100
Consistency
90
Appearance
90
Burn
90
85rated
Powerful
for Alec Bradley Medalist Robusto
by Colby H in Upstate NY on January 07, 2010

Well, everything about these cigars says AB...the construction, burn, draw, apprearance, but not the taste. While most AB's are smooth smoking complex full bodied beasts, this is more of a teenage version on steroids. None of the grace or complexity with all of the brawn and a bit too aggressive. I think that about sums it up. They might need a year or two of box time. Maybe infuse them with a cognac in your special box.

... read more
00
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
70
Construction
100
Draw
100
Consistency
90
Appearance
90
Burn
90
83rated
SLOW STARTER
for A/B Medalist Cuban Belicoso
by Mark in Annapolis, MD on January 19, 2008

This toothy, oily maduro is a slow starter with a hint of bitterness, but it warms up very nicely to show sweet, woody notes with hints of cocoa and vanilla in the second half of the burn - which I really enjoyed (in fact, I removed the ban to smoke it further down). I had this in my humidor only 3 days before smoking one, which may account for the pronounced tunneling; I will let the others rest for another week. Burns with a nice white ash. The stick is rolled with a curious combination of Honduran/Nicaraguan fillers, Connecticut Shade binder, and Costa Rican wrapper. "Cigar Insider" rated this an 89 in July 2005, and I'd say that's accurate for the second half of the burn. If the humidor makes a difference after a week or so, I'll buy another box.

... read more
00
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
80
Construction
90
Draw
100
Consistency
70
Appearance
100
Burn
70
81rated
Let em' rest
for A/B Medalist Cuban Belicoso
by John Doe in Iowa City on November 07, 2008
Verified purchase

Initially the cigar had an ok draw, an ok flavor, an ok to mediocre burn. I smoked 4 in the first month of having them then was fed up. Allowed them to rest 2 months and the cigar as a whole was much better. Good draw, good flavor (mild note of chocolate, earthy, and coffe.) and decent burn. Final conclusion: a decent cigar, but did not make the list. There are better maduros out there.

... read more
00
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
80
Construction
90
Draw
80
Consistency
70
Appearance
100
Burn
70
80rated
Nicer than expected
for Alec Bradley Medalist Robusto
by MT in Bay Point, CA on December 29, 2009

Reviews weren't always that great about this cigar, but I finally got one in a sampler and have to say it was nicer and much better than I expected. Smoked this one right out of the box, so it was a little too moist and may not have experienced the full flavor. It was a very nice cigar; subtle flavors, nothing fancy like Tempus or anything like it. I think I would compare it with a Gran Habano Corojo #5 with a dark wrapper instead of a corojo. Halfway through it started burning really nice and tasted some sweetness and sared geting more creamy I think. Out of the box, I would rate it a 7.5 and am probably buying a box of 10 and let them accomodate a few extra weeks in my humidor. I am sure they will be even better.

... read more
00
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
70
Construction
100
Draw
70
Consistency
90
Appearance
100
Burn
70
77rated
Disappointing!
for Alec Bradley Medalist Gordo
by Allen Sirken in Texas on August 25, 2006
Verified purchase

I expected more based on the catalogue review.I purchased the Padilla Hybrid Torp and the Patel Selects Toro in the same order. This was not in their league. Bland taste. So so draw. Pretty cigar for sure. At this price point, there are a shload of better cigars to be had.

... read more
00
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
70
Construction
70
Draw
80
Consistency
90
Appearance
90
Burn
80
73rated
No Medals from me
for A/B Medalist Cuban Belicoso
by Richard in Missouri on August 26, 2007

Purchased a box at auction. Smoked one when they first arrived. Have since smoked four more. Very good looking stick, smooth and well constructed. Draw is only so-so though, and slightly tight. Burn has been consistently in need of babysitting and touch-ups. So far, not too bad ... but the taste - I've had much better tasting bundle cigars at much less money. These things seem to be doing fine for a few draws, then out of nowhere, some sort of acrid/bitter taste just floods in. Have trashed two of them at less than half smoked, and sure not nubbin' any. Will be leaving the rest in the humidor a while, in hopes they 'grow up' a bit. I'll stick with the bundles of el-cheapos and take my chances there, before I buy more of these. At least, they look good in the humidor.

... read more
00
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
70
Construction
80
Draw
80
Consistency
60
Appearance
90
Burn
70
47rated
Occasionally a hit, but too often a miss
for Alec Bradley Medalist Gordo
by Whupash in Milwaukie on August 18, 2009
Verified purchase

This smoke has got to be one of the most frustrating love hate relationships I've ever been involved in. One day they reward with a mellow complex smoke that really makes me stop and say "WOW, that's why I smoke these". Other times I wonder why I'm wasting my precious cigar smoking time on these nightmares. Some are nicely rolled and burn beautifully, with a perfect draw and volumes of smoke. Others can be so soggy I can just about fold the ammoniated suckers in half. Yup, I think I'm done with these. Look for them on a clearance shelf near you. "Life is too short for a bad cigar".

... read more
00
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
50
Construction
40
Draw
50
Consistency
10
Appearance
80
Burn
50
41rated
Worst I've smoked...ever.
for Alec Bradley Medalist Gordo
by Chad in South Carolina on January 26, 2008

Burn - Sideways isn't bad, is it? I'll smoke the other half later. Consistency - Very consistent. Consistently bad.Draw - You'll have a muscular, fully veined Schwarzenegger (Predator era) neck after two or three of these smokes.Appearance - Looks like a cigar. I assure you it is not. This is an exercise device.Taste - Nice mild smoke...if you chew it.Construction - Mostly twigs and branches. Break one of these open and you'll see that it's filled with mite chewed leafs...probably not good enough for Phillip Morris.

... read more
00
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
30
Construction
10
Draw
10
Consistency
100
Appearance
90
Burn
30
Prev 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Famous Smoke is a secure retailer of the finest cigars online at the web's best prices. Please note that Famous Smoke Shop does not sell tobacco products to anyone under the age of 21 (or the minimum age in your local jurisdiction, whichever is higher). Note also that it is unlawful to even attempt to purchase cigars below the minimum age. If you are not of legal age, please do not enter our site. For more information on how we verify age click here.
Copyright © 2018 Famous Smoke Shop-PA, Inc. All rights reserved.