I hate saving money on cigarsX
SAVE UP TO 20%
on your next order
WHEN YOU SIGN UP TO RECEIVE OUR AWESOME EMAIL DEALS
 
Free Shipping Over $125

Ashton Virgin Sun Grown Robusto Reviews

91 consumer rating
12 reviews
83% of reviewers recommend this product
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
91
Construction
91
Draw
92
Consistency
89
Appearance
93
Burn
87
Purchased this product? Share you thoughts with other customers:

most helpful positive review
100 consumer rating
Excellent Cigar
for Ashton Virgin Sun Grown Robusto
by in West Chester on April 15, 2014

Ashton VSGs are my second favorite cigar of all time. Strong, with a somewhat sweet, savory smoke with zero harshness. Construction is excellent as is the draw. Mine have always burned very nicely. I just love the flavor. They re very nicely priced for what they are. Not cheap, but worth every penny and then some. Overall, I d say the current 91 consensus rating is quite low. Personally, 94 seems about right.

0 0
most helpful negative review
17 consumer rating
Poorly made overpriced cigar
for Ashton Virgin Sun Grown Robusto
by in Michigan on April 1, 2009

I purchased this cigar on the advice of the smoke shop guy, who has steered me well a few times before. When I cut it, I noticed that the end was hard to cut (with a very expensive sharp cutter). Looking at the cut end the tobacco leaves were packed so tightly that the end looked like wood. I've never seen this before in any cigar. I slightly squeezed the cigar up and down and it seemed that the end 1 inch (near the foot) was very hard, obviously packed way too tight. I lit the cigar figuring it would draw like crap and sure enough it did. I made another cut about 1/8" in to no avail. Finally I used my pipe tool to poke into the cigar in several places to get it to draw ok. Even with this it was only ok, and there was really nothing exceptional about this cigar. Some may say that I may have purchased one bad one in the bunch, but for the price I paid there is no excuse - this is why these makers have Quality Control. Do yourself a favor and spend your hard earned money on something better!

0 0
recommended for you based on Ashton Virgin Sun Grown Robusto
Results per page:
10
Previous< 1 2 Next>
Showing items 1 - 10 of 12
100 consumer rating
Excellent Cigar
by Al in West Chester on April 15, 2014

Ashton VSGs are my second favorite cigar of all time. Strong, with a somewhat sweet, savory smoke with zero harshness. Construction is excellent as is the draw. Mine have always burned very nicely. I just love the flavor. They re very nicely priced for what they are. Not cheap, but worth every penny and then some. Overall, I d say the current 91 consensus rating is quite low. Personally, 94 seems about right.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
100
Draw
100
Consistency
100
Appearance
100
Burn
100
98 consumer rating
Best of the Best
by Mike M. in Minneapolis on April 22, 2005

Ranks right up there with Opus X and Cohiba Robusto (the tradtional variety) at the top of my all-time favorites list. Much more potent than your average Ashton, everything about this cigar is top notch. It has a complex spicy flavor that especially delivers up front, much like a dry wine. I rated the appearance at a "9" because it tends toward streakiness in its coloration, but that's a small price to pay. One of the few cigars on the market that I'm not afraid to shell out more than 10 bucks for.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
100
Draw
100
Consistency
100
Appearance
90
Burn
100
96 consumer rating
like the baby of a hemingway and an opusx
by AF in WI on July 09, 2010

This cigar is absolutley incredible, very full bodied and peppery but smooth at the same time. The only way I can describe the flavor is like an opus x and a hemingway had a baby, it has all the flavors of an opus but has a very smooth and VERY present pepper that I can't get enough of. I will deffinitely buy more and soon at that

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
100
Draw
90
Consistency
90
Appearance
100
Burn
90
96 consumer rating
Fantastic smoke
by Chuck in Frederick MD on June 05, 2008

Full bodied yet smooth as silk. Lot's of smoke with a white ash and solid burn. This is just as good as my Opus X's dare I say.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
90
Draw
100
Consistency
100
Appearance
80
Burn
100
92 consumer rating
New favorite for sure
by Herb Lieberman in Dana Point Ca. on March 30, 2013

This AM I took an Ashton VSG out of the Humi to give it a try based on the ratings on this site the comments...It was a great relaxing smoke with everything I wanted and more from a fantastic cigar at a reasonable price. Hope you will enjoy one as much as I did..

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
90
Construction
100
Draw
100
Consistency
90
Appearance
90
Burn
90
17 consumer rating
Poorly made overpriced cigar
by Bob in Michigan on April 01, 2009

I purchased this cigar on the advice of the smoke shop guy, who has steered me well a few times before. When I cut it, I noticed that the end was hard to cut (with a very expensive sharp cutter). Looking at the cut end the tobacco leaves were packed so tightly that the end looked like wood. I've never seen this before in any cigar. I slightly squeezed the cigar up and down and it seemed that the end 1 inch (near the foot) was very hard, obviously packed way too tight. I lit the cigar figuring it would draw like crap and sure enough it did. I made another cut about 1/8" in to no avail. Finally I used my pipe tool to poke into the cigar in several places to get it to draw ok. Even with this it was only ok, and there was really nothing exceptional about this cigar. Some may say that I may have purchased one bad one in the bunch, but for the price I paid there is no excuse - this is why these makers have Quality Control. Do yourself a favor and spend your hard earned money on something better!

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
10
Construction
10
Draw
10
Consistency
10
Appearance
70
Burn
10
Outstanding Smoke!
by CB in MD on December 16, 2011

This cigar is not cheap but everytime I get a chance to smoke on of these I don't regret paying the price. Full of flavor and a near perfect draw. Even with miniuim box time you can smoke these things down to the nub. Not really a cigar for the novice smoker as it is full of twist and turns. Parred with a nice single malt...can't go wrong!

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
Makes My Teeth Shiver
by John in Grayslake Il on December 30, 2009

My favorite Dominican hands down.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
Overpriced "Kool-Aid"
by Roland in North Carolina on April 06, 2008

No denying this is a good cigar, but no way are they worth the price of admission. Better 'gars out there for less $$.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
Awesome all-around stick.
by Jonathan Tewksbury in Simi Valley on February 12, 2008

S. Newsense, would you give up on women after one bad experience? NO! So you had a bum stick, sorry bro. That does not take away from the fact that these are some sweet cigars. There will always be bad sticks with every brand, but with Ashton, a bad stick is a rare occurrence.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
Results per page:
10
Previous< 1 2 Next>
Showing items 1 - 10 of 12
Enter your email to start receiving special offers.
For website help, please contact us by email or call us at 1-800-564-2486
Famous Smoke is a secure retailer of the finest cigars online at the web's best prices. Please note that Famous Smoke Shop does not sell tobacco products to anyone under the age of 18 (or the minimum age in your local jurisdiction, whichever is higher). Note also that it is unlawful to even attempt to purchase cigars below the minimum age. If you are not of legal age, please do not enter our site.
Copyright © 2015 Famous Smoke Shop-PA, Inc. All rights reserved.