I hate saving money on cigarsX
SAVE UP TO 20%
on your next order
WHEN YOU SIGN UP TO RECEIVE OUR AWESOME EMAIL DEALS
 

Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo Reviews

82 consumer rating
11 reviews
86% of reviewers recommend this product
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
81
Construction
83
Draw
82
Consistency
82
Appearance
83
Burn
84
Purchased this product? Share you thoughts with other customers:

most helpful positive review
95 consumer rating
Budget Price, Luxury Taste
for Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo
by in Detroit on August 5, 2007
Verified purchase

Well now it's been over a month since I got these cigars, and I've been plowing through them quite quickly. Delicious!

0 0
most helpful negative review
58 consumer rating
You Get What You Pay For...
for Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo
by in Florida on August 25, 2012
Verified purchase

I guess you really do get what you pay for. If you want to give up cigar smoking, try these Torpedos. Draws is non-existent (like sucking through a straw), it burns hot, and requires at least 2 re-lights. Oh well, maybe it's just me and maybe I got a "bad" bundle, so I'll leave them in the humidor to "age" a bit but I don't have high hopes for them. Now, if you want a good house brand smoke, try a Famous Nigaraguan 3000 Torpedo. Excellent construction, proper draw, slow and even burn, just a pleasant easy-going smoke.

0 0
recommended for you based on Famous Dominican Selection 1000 Torpedo
Results per page:
10
Previous< 1 2 Next>
Showing items 1 - 10 of 11
95 consumer rating
Budget Price, Luxury Taste
by Metalbass in Detroit on August 05, 2007
Verified purchase

Well now it's been over a month since I got these cigars, and I've been plowing through them quite quickly. Delicious!

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
90
Construction
100
Draw
100
Consistency
100
Appearance
90
Burn
100
91 consumer rating
Nicely suprised.
by Ronald in San Antonio, TX on September 07, 2012
Verified purchase

Bought a bundle for the golf course, lit one up yesterday and was I ever suprised. Great cigar and now that I see they are on sale for 26 bucks it blows my mind. Good flavor, not as much as a super premium but its there. Good construction and pack. Stays lit all the way through. A must try for cheapie events like golfing.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
90
Construction
90
Draw
90
Consistency
90
Appearance
100
Burn
90
81 consumer rating
A Fistful of a Cigar
by Paul in Annandale, MN on October 14, 2010
Verified purchase

This is another good Famous Dominican. I like the full 54 ring size and the good taste and construction of this cigar. I'd like to know what the 1000, 2000, 3000, 4000, and 5000 designations of the various Famous Dominicans signify, though.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
80
Construction
80
Draw
80
Consistency
80
Appearance
90
Burn
80
76 consumer rating
If you like a milder cigar these are worth trying
by Randall Miller in Wisconsin on December 29, 2005
Verified purchase

If you like a milder cigar these are worth trying. I ordered because the country and ingredient tobaccos were described the sames as Hamilton House brand...which I really liked. These are nothing like those, however. Remember 20-30 years ago when Dutch Masters was a decent cigar. These remind me of those. I usually like maduro cigars, so these are not my "flavor", but after they sat in my humidor for about a month, they settled down to a nice mild smoke.(They came awfully dry).They became pleasing in burn, construction, and draw. They cannot be smoked out of the bundle, however, as you will find that any taste at all is only unpleasant. I would have bet money that it wasn't even the same cigar. What a difference a few weeks in the humidor it made.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
70
Construction
80
Draw
80
Consistency
80
Appearance
80
Burn
80
73 consumer rating
Outdoor stogie
by Ruben in Yerevan, Armenia on July 07, 2014
Verified purchase

Have to agree with previous comment from AlanJ, stating, that it needs some humidor time. They were unsmokable for the first 3 weeks after shipping, but after this time they were ok. Not good, but ok. The other thing, I have to say, they are better on open air, not in a room.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
70
Construction
80
Draw
80
Consistency
70
Appearance
70
Burn
70
72 consumer rating
Needs Some Humidor Time
by AlanJ in Florida on August 28, 2012
Verified purchase

If you smoke these without giving them some unwrapped humidor time, you will be disappointed. They'll smell like burning rope. However, removing the cellophane and letting them sit in the humidor for at least a week will definitely improve them greatly. They're still not my favorite smoke but humidor time does help quite a bit.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
70
Construction
80
Draw
70
Consistency
70
Appearance
70
Burn
80
58 consumer rating
You Get What You Pay For...
by AlanJ in Florida on August 25, 2012
Verified purchase

I guess you really do get what you pay for. If you want to give up cigar smoking, try these Torpedos. Draws is non-existent (like sucking through a straw), it burns hot, and requires at least 2 re-lights. Oh well, maybe it's just me and maybe I got a "bad" bundle, so I'll leave them in the humidor to "age" a bit but I don't have high hopes for them. Now, if you want a good house brand smoke, try a Famous Nigaraguan 3000 Torpedo. Excellent construction, proper draw, slow and even burn, just a pleasant easy-going smoke.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
60
Construction
60
Draw
40
Consistency
60
Appearance
70
Burn
60
Great Burn, Great Draw, Great Price/ Needs time!
by Harv in Indianapolis, IN on May 27, 2008

These cigars represent an excellent value but they need to soak in the cedar for a while. Never had a $1 cigar that looked and smoked like this one. Right out of the bundle, the first one is being enjoyed as I type this. I have to say that the flavor doesn't set my world on fire but for a buck or so a piece, WTF? Let's not kid ourselves here, it is not a Romeo Y Julietta or a Macanudo but it's also not $5 a stick. I've tried a few others in this range that tasted like hay being smoked through a rusty tailpipe with a pillow stuffed inside to add to the dis-comfort of knowing you've been marked as a schmuck just for trying it. This is not the case here at all. This would make a great anytime smoke, especially when you want to burn one and not pay a whole lot of attention to it! Bought these on sale and would buy them again-on sale. Wife hates the smell of these though, that is the biggest complaint.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
Excellent Bundled Cigar, Excellent Price!
by Robert in Loveland, CO on February 25, 2008

The torpedo is my favorite bundled cigar. The secret is to let them age in the humidor for about a month. I pass these out to friends who visit and they are surprised. These are my everyday (afterwork) smoke and save the really excellent premium ones for my weekend reward!

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
Bargain Hunters will love this cigar!
by Metalbass in Detroit on July 25, 2007
Verified purchase

I got four bundles of this cigar off of cigarauctioneer.com. Famous Smoke has almost always given me some good cigar deals, but this is one of the tops! I smoked one out of the bundle and was thoroughly impressed. Mild to medium in strength, good tobacco/leathery, perhaps even slightly nutty taste. Two weeks later I had one and was even more impressed. The draw was perfect. So far I have tried two out of each bundle and I like them. Highly recommended!

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
Results per page:
10
Previous< 1 2 Next>
Showing items 1 - 10 of 11
Enter your email to start receiving special offers.
For website help, please contact us by email or call us at 1-800-564-2486
Famous Smoke is a secure retailer of the finest cigars online at the web's best prices. Please note that Famous Smoke Shop does not sell tobacco products to anyone under the age of 18 (or the minimum age in your local jurisdiction, whichever is higher). Note also that it is unlawful to even attempt to purchase cigars below the minimum age. If you are not of legal age, please do not enter our site.
Copyright © 2015 Famous Smoke Shop-PA, Inc. All rights reserved.