Save 20%! - Click Here20% Off

Famous Monster Magma 2 Oz Hygro-Gel Humidification Jar Reviews

60or below
9 reviews
33% of reviewers recommend this product
 
ExcellentPoor
Cleanability
33
Durability
57
Design
33
Materials
57
Appearance
33
Overall_quality
60
Purchased this product? Share you thoughts with other customers:

most helpful positive review
82 rated
Works like a charm!
for Famous Monster Magma 2 Oz Hygro-Gel Humidification Jar
by in Indiana on February 7, 2016

I purchased 1 of these last year to replace the cheap foam in my 40 count and recently purchased 2 more as I could not maintain proper humidity levels. With the initial jar I was unable to maintain 60% humidity during the winter. I was using distilled water to top off the gel and noticed less than stellar performance. I seasoned my humidor again properly and added Monster Venom to my most recent order. I added the Venom to the gel prior to introducing to my humidor this time, replaced the cap and allowed the gel to absorb the solution. I am using one 2 oz. Magma jar and am maintaining 70% RH at 68 degrees. Works well for me!

0 0
most helpful negative review
45 rated
Why does it have to be red? It leaked and stained all of my boxes of cigars in shipment and made a mess - on hands. Hope it works well!
for Famous Monster Magma 2 Oz Hygro-Gel Humidification Jar
by in Lathrop Library on February 12, 2016

Will try and let you know. Purchased 5 containers.

0 0
recommended for you based on Famous Monster Magma 2 Oz Hygro-Gel Humidification Jar
82rated
Works like a charm!
for Famous Monster Magma 2 Oz Hygro-Gel Humidification Jar
by Tim in Indiana on February 07, 2016

I purchased 1 of these last year to replace the cheap foam in my 40 count and recently purchased 2 more as I could not maintain proper humidity levels. With the initial jar I was unable to maintain 60% humidity during the winter. I was using distilled water to top off the gel and noticed less than stellar performance. I seasoned my humidor again properly and added Monster Venom to my most recent order. I added the Venom to the gel prior to introducing to my humidor this time, replaced the cap and allowed the gel to absorb the solution. I am using one 2 oz. Magma jar and am maintaining 70% RH at 68 degrees. Works well for me!

00
 
ExcellentPoor
Cleanability
80
Durability
80
Design
80
Materials
80
Appearance
80
Overall_quality
90
60or below
Why does it have to be red? It leaked and stained all of my boxes of cigars in shipment and made a mess - on hands. Hope it works well!
for Famous Monster Magma 2 Oz Hygro-Gel Humidification Jar
by Gilbert in Lathrop Library on February 12, 2016

Will try and let you know. Purchased 5 containers.

00
 
ExcellentPoor
Cleanability
10
Durability
80
Design
10
Materials
80
Appearance
10
Overall_quality
80
60or below
Poor quality control could damage your humidor
for Famous Monster Magma 2 Oz Hygro-Gel Humidification Jar
by Eric in West Covina, CA on December 30, 2015
Verified purchase

Received one of these jars it was cracked and leaked the unnecessarily red liquid in my humidor, the reason it was cracked was due to the perferated cap under the lid not fitting properly and it appears that cigar tech company in Scottsdale Arizona that produces this product for famous tried to save themselves product costs by using something obviously meant for another product. I ve purchased this product before that s how I know the perforated cap is not the proper one for this item. I since ordered a couple more in both the 2oz. And 4oz. thinking this issue was isolated and corrected however it has not been. I recently spoke to representative let s call him K.C. in regards to this issue after he read me the information he received from the cigar advisor experts as they call are referred to that they are aware of the issue and he would send me out another jar but it would likely have the same issue, also offering me a $15 credit for the damage to the humidor and some cigars, my cost of materials and the couple hours it took to correct the damage. Are you kidding me!!! It ticks me off they re aware of the issue and they are still allowing distribution and customers to purchase this item. Any major retailer would have a defective product that doesn t meet proper quality control specifications pulled from the shelves immediately and sent back to the manufacturer. I m actually pretty disturbed that they re still allowing customers to order a product that is potentially harmful to their cigars and humidor. SHAME ON THEM!! Do NOT purchase Ever!

01
 
ExcellentPoor
Cleanability
10
Durability
10
Design
10
Materials
10
Appearance
10
Overall_quality
10
Not a Good Product. Go with Xikar.
for Famous Monster Magma 2 Oz Hygro-Gel Humidification Jar
by Cpt. Toro in New York, NY on October 06, 2014
Verified purchase

As a test, I always leave the humidification product in my room until it dries out just to see if its working. I give it about a month, this product after a month was as new. The crystals hadn't shrunk a bit. To me, this means that the release of humidity is slow. Go with Xikar which I consider a much better and faster release. Plus, it's clear crystals. The red really doesn't appeal to me.

00
 
ExcellentPoor
Cleanability
Durability
Design
Materials
Appearance
Overall_quality
no rating values found
Spot on 70%, love it
for Famous Monster Magma 2 Oz Hygro-Gel Humidification Jar
by Steve in Alexandria on February 21, 2014
Verified purchase

Gave these a shot in my 125 after noticing a funkiness in my older Oasis foam bricks. After experimenting I found I needed 3 2oz units scattered about. Now after letting it sit overnight and NOT PEEKING I have a perfect 70% at 68F. Note these use the same silica gel material as the beads, just in larger chunks , think cracked ice. Worked so great I emptied one of my bead tubes where the beads were getting dark from use and refilled with excess chunks from the Hydro-Gel jar. Then I did the same with a round humidifier. This solved the bulky container issue noted in another review.

40
 
ExcellentPoor
Cleanability
Durability
Design
Materials
Appearance
Overall_quality
no rating values found
Looks Cool, Doesn't Work!
for Famous Monster Magma 2 Oz Hygro-Gel Humidification Jar
by Joel in Cincinnati on December 09, 2012
Verified purchase

Not good. I noticed some dryness and set up a data logger in my 25 cigar humidor. Pretty constant humidity average of 58% over 16 days. Max humidity of 62% at 64F. Not recommended.

00
 
ExcellentPoor
Cleanability
Durability
Design
Materials
Appearance
Overall_quality
no rating values found
Unexceptional
for Famous Monster Magma 2 Oz Hygro-Gel Humidification Jar
by Lenape in New York on October 17, 2012
Verified purchase

Not impressed. I had some issues with cracking whilst using this product. I liked that it was easy to judge when it was time for replacing, but I felt it just didnt pack enough punch. For the space these take up in your box, you're better off going with alternatives imo.

00
 
ExcellentPoor
Cleanability
Durability
Design
Materials
Appearance
Overall_quality
no rating values found
I don't like it
for Famous Monster Magma 2 Oz Hygro-Gel Humidification Jar
by j'mo in Missouri on September 12, 2012
Verified purchase

I gave this a fair chance in one of my Humidors and honestly, it don't work for me. It claims to regulate to 70% RH but it never got past 68%. I hd to go back to my tubes. Plus these jars (I've tried both sizes) just take up to much room in my desk top Humidors.

00
 
ExcellentPoor
Cleanability
Durability
Design
Materials
Appearance
Overall_quality
no rating values found
Time will tell
for Famous Monster Magma 2 Oz Hygro-Gel Humidification Jar
by Mike in Jeff City, MO on August 31, 2012
Verified purchase

I got a jar of this out of curiosity. Normaly I use the cigar size tube of beads and they work great. I put this into my big Humi and the RH went up to 77%. I'll let it settle down a bit and try again, but 77% don't get it.

01
 
ExcellentPoor
Cleanability
Durability
Design
Materials
Appearance
Overall_quality
no rating values found
Famous Smoke is a secure retailer of the finest cigars online at the web's best prices. Please note that Famous Smoke Shop does not sell tobacco products to anyone under the age of 21 (or the minimum age in your local jurisdiction, whichever is higher). Note also that it is unlawful to even attempt to purchase cigars below the minimum age. If you are not of legal age, please do not enter our site. For more information on how we verify age click here.
Copyright © 2016 Famous Smoke Shop-PA, Inc. All rights reserved.