Save 20%! - Click Here20% Off

Henry Clay Toro Reviews

81rated
18 reviews
92% of reviewers recommend this product
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
83
Construction
77
Draw
77
Consistency
81
Appearance
76
Burn
79
Purchased this product? Share you thoughts with other customers:

most helpful positive review
99 rated
I think I ve figured out all the low ratings...
for Henry Clay Toro
by in Raleigh, NC on July 30, 2015

It s because people just don t want anyone else to know what a tasty, flavorful cigar this is! But I can t sit back and let a classic brand like Henry Clay be the victim of bad PR just because people want to horde them for themselves. Is it the prettiest stick on the block? No. But by jingo, IMO it certainly is one of the best. The Connecticut broadleaf wrapper gives this stogie a sweet, yet slightly peppery kick, and the full-bodied Dominican binder and filler are definitely not what you expected. Smells great burning, too. All in all, my go-to cigar when I really want a great smoking experience.

4 1
most helpful negative review
NR
Yummy!
for Henry Clay Toro
by in Oak Lawn, IL on February 6, 2000

A great tasting cigar...You almost want to lick the wrapper..Very peppery and bold...Occasional construction problems (Wrapper unraveling, canoeing (burning on one side))..Finish is somewhat consistent...gets a bit harsher at the end (which is expected of course with all cigars) but only enhances the peppery taste...I like 'em a lot!...If you've never tried one, purchase a single or two before buying an entire box..You really have to enjoy full-bodied cigars to enjoy this one.

8 23
recommended for you based on Henry Clay Toro
99rated
A Shamefully Underrated Cigar!
for Henry Clay Toro
by Ken in Los Angeles on November 10, 2015

This cigar is one of the most underrated cigars I have ever seen. I would say the Henry Clay is like a Fuente Hemingway on steroids! It has a great full Dominican puro flavor and taste but with more of everything than the Fuente. I have smoked everything from the bargain basement smokes to the best rated Cubans and have always found this cigar to be absolutely one of the finest cigars on the market today. I have made this my go to smoke for the last 16 years. If you haven t tried one of these then you truly need to try one as soon as possible.

10
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
100
Draw
100
Consistency
100
Appearance
90
Burn
100
99rated
I think I ve figured out all the low ratings...
for Henry Clay Toro
by Dave H. in Raleigh, NC on July 30, 2015

It s because people just don t want anyone else to know what a tasty, flavorful cigar this is! But I can t sit back and let a classic brand like Henry Clay be the victim of bad PR just because people want to horde them for themselves. Is it the prettiest stick on the block? No. But by jingo, IMO it certainly is one of the best. The Connecticut broadleaf wrapper gives this stogie a sweet, yet slightly peppery kick, and the full-bodied Dominican binder and filler are definitely not what you expected. Smells great burning, too. All in all, my go-to cigar when I really want a great smoking experience.

41
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
100
Draw
100
Consistency
100
Appearance
90
Burn
100
96rated
Hello to a old freind
for Henry Clay Toro
by Buffalo Spirit in Oneida Nation(reservation)Wi. on October 22, 2011
Verified purchase

It's been a few years since I smoked a Henry Clay and I had to wonder what distracted me from these fine examples of a near (very near)perfect go to cigar or rather automatic choice when I'm undecided about 'what cigar do I smoke'. Great taste,burn,etc... I have to make shure I have a few on hand for those times. the cigar had me recalling a few times I had one at the perfect moment or the moment was perfect you know a Sunset/camp fire those sorta things

10
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
90
Draw
100
Consistency
90
Appearance
90
Burn
100
91rated
Superb Value and Flavor
for Henry Clay Toro
by Marv in Oklahoma City on May 25, 2005

I've smoked the Brevas Conservas on and off for many years and loved them for appearance, flavor and price. I received this Toro (aka Senator) in a GC sampler, and loved it from the first puff. Big "mouth" of rich, full flavored smoke. Easy, even burning. No hot burn or harshness to it. I don't even get the "pepper" others do. Just robust dominican ligero flavor inside that signature oily wrapper. I agree that this is not the "full flavor" some might be expecting. I consider Oliva O maduros to be FULL flavor. So Henry Clay's might not live up to your expectations. And the Brevas Conservas don't have the girth to deliver the heavier blast. But try a Toro 50x6. I believe you'll get the unique flavor and the fullness you're looking for, and at an excellent price.

20
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
90
Draw
90
Consistency
80
Appearance
90
Burn
80
88rated
Totally Under Rated!
for Henry Clay Toro
by El Jefe in Warren, PA on February 15, 2013

With all the boutique cigars on the market today, people have either lost their appreciation for, or just have'nt experienced what a good classic Cuban cigar is supposed to taste like. Henry Clay is about as close to what a "Cubanesque" cigar should be. Definitely full flavored and not for the occasional cigar smoker. Id put a Henry Clay up against a Cohiba any day.

31
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
90
Construction
90
Draw
90
Consistency
90
Appearance
80
Burn
90
88rated
Great old favorite
for Henry Clay Toro
by Darin M in Missouri on June 25, 2008
Verified purchase

Nice peppery full bodied smoke. Kinda like a good older bird dog; may not look like much, but damn that dog can hunt!

10
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
90
Draw
80
Consistency
90
Appearance
70
Burn
80
85rated
Best kept secret
for Henry Clay Toro
by CigarStateofTexas in Texas on November 11, 2015

Henry Clay toros are awesome. $12 cigar for $4. Cannot go wrong. Rich and chocolatey.

00
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
90
Construction
80
Draw
90
Consistency
100
Appearance
60
Burn
80
85rated
Great Consistency
for Henry Clay Toro
by Joe in Connecticut on August 17, 2008
Verified purchase

Most consistent cigar I have smoked over the last five years. Haven't had a bad one yet. This cigar is robustly satisfying and the price is right.

10
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
90
Construction
70
Draw
80
Consistency
100
Appearance
80
Burn
80
81rated
Very Pleasing Cigar!!
for Henry Clay Toro
by Jeff in West Virginia on September 27, 2008
Verified purchase

What a smoke... perfect flavor, smoke length is just right,, Great with coffee!!

10
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
80
Construction
80
Draw
90
Consistency
80
Appearance
80
Burn
80
80rated
Very Nice Cigar
for Henry Clay Toro 5 Pack
by Mark G in Saint Louis, MO on August 11, 2016

I was turned on to this cigar in the 1980 s in a little cigar shop in Chicago by the Exchange. I love this cigar. Bold, yet not too bold. Not for the novice.

00
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
80
Construction
80
Draw
80
Consistency
80
Appearance
80
Burn
80
Famous Smoke is a secure retailer of the finest cigars online at the web's best prices. Please note that Famous Smoke Shop does not sell tobacco products to anyone under the age of 21 (or the minimum age in your local jurisdiction, whichever is higher). Note also that it is unlawful to even attempt to purchase cigars below the minimum age. If you are not of legal age, please do not enter our site. For more information on how we verify age click here.
Copyright © 2016 Famous Smoke Shop-PA, Inc. All rights reserved.