I hate saving money on cigarsX
SAVE UP TO 20%
on your next order
WHEN YOU SIGN UP TO RECEIVE OUR AWESOME EMAIL DEALS
 

La Gloria Cubana Wavell Reviews

86 consumer rating
20 reviews
88% of reviewers recommend this product
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
88
Construction
86
Draw
86
Consistency
82
Appearance
87
Burn
81
Purchased this product? Share you thoughts with other customers:

most helpful positive review
87 consumer rating
One Hell of a Cigar
for La Gloria Cubana (DR) Wavell
by in Pennsylvania on July 24, 1999

What a great cigar. And for the price (at Famous) they can't be beat. Great after dinner cigar. I like to smoke it with a good single malt scotch.

14 12
most helpful negative review
47 consumer rating
Not a favorite, by any means
for La Gloria Cubana (DR) Wavell
by in Massachusetts on November 25, 2003

I bought a box of these hummers thinking they'd have to be similar to some excellent full-size La Glorias. Except for the nice dark wrapper, they weren't. My box was harsh, lacked any subtlety in it's aromas, tasted about like a machine-made Topper Grande Corona. On the plus side, they seemed to be pretty uniformly made, reasonably tight while still drawing and burning well, and to have a substantial nicotine content. Overall, though, what a disappointment. To me, this box contained what were roughly "mowing-the-lawn" cigars. And I've bought much tastier, more pleasingly aromatic cigars at my local drug store.

14 10
recommended for you based on La Gloria Cubana (DR) Wavell
Results per page:
10
Previous< 1 2 Next>
Showing items 1 - 10 of 20
95 consumer rating
Excellent Smoke; One of My Favorite
by Edward in Kentucky on March 20, 2009

Tried a lot of cigars and this one is right up there at the top; if not the best !!

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
100
Draw
90
Consistency
90
Appearance
90
Burn
90
90 consumer rating
Great full body smoke
by Jason in Massachusetts on June 06, 2009
Verified purchase

Great offering from La Gloria Cubana, Very strong flavor (which I like) might be a little too strong for a new smoker. If your a fan of CAO mx2 or lx2 give these a shot your sure to love them.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
90
Construction
90
Draw
90
Consistency
90
Appearance
90
Burn
90
90 consumer rating
My New Everyday Cigar
by J.P. Burke in Belfast, Maine on May 03, 2000
Verified purchase

I was very pleased with the Wavell Maduro -- sweet, but not cloying, taste, and a rich, leathery smoke. Two thumbs up, well worth the price.

6 16
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
90
Construction
90
Draw
100
Consistency
80
Appearance
100
Burn
80
87 consumer rating
One Hell of a Cigar
by Mike Piersimoni in Pennsylvania on July 24, 1999

What a great cigar. And for the price (at Famous) they can't be beat. Great after dinner cigar. I like to smoke it with a good single malt scotch.

14 12
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
90
Construction
90
Draw
90
Consistency
80
Appearance
90
Burn
80
83 consumer rating
She's got great personality (but man, she's ugly)
by Sal in Atlanta on September 21, 2010

This may not be the prettiest cigar in my humidor, but it is a great smoke! Good mouthful of flavor right from the start and a slight sweetness in the finish. The only problem I have with them is the HEAT. In the final third they get so hot that you have to be careful how you hold them (hot end up or risk a burned finger) but that never equates to a hot smoke, strangely enough. If you can ignore her looks, Gloria will give you a pleasant afternoon.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
90
Construction
80
Draw
90
Consistency
80
Appearance
70
Burn
80
80 consumer rating
Strong, but lighter than it looks; smooth draw
by Gary Mitchell in Herndon, VA on November 27, 2000

This cigar lived up to my exectations; it's full- bodied but not as strong as the almost black wrapper makes it look. I use it for an "in-betweener", a sort of daily/utility smoke, not my preferred Henry Clay. It very nicely fills up my one-hour commute to work, and maybe a second one, or my preferred, for the trip home. Having a good, even burn from solid construction, my only complaint is that it tends to get very strong on the re-light, and sometimes at the last inch-and- a-half or so even on first smoke. That's to be expected with most cigars though, especially full- bodied ones; but this one steps it up a little more than most. Also, the cut tip doesn't chew all that well . . . Famous' special of $50 a box of 25, which with S&H came out to about $2.18 a stick, was a bargain. Even though I prefer medium-to-full-bodied smokes, I'm wondering how the natural version of this one would be? It's a good cigar.

11 18
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
80
Construction
80
Draw
90
Consistency
80
Appearance
80
Burn
70
75 consumer rating
Getting worse by the year
by MR in New York on April 25, 2007
Verified purchase

I purchase this cigar regularly and they are getting worse. More than half in the last box were so tight that they were unsmokable. The burn is not consistent either. Very disappointing & time to change.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
80
Construction
70
Draw
70
Consistency
70
Appearance
80
Burn
70
47 consumer rating
Not a favorite, by any means
by John Green in Massachusetts on November 25, 2003

I bought a box of these hummers thinking they'd have to be similar to some excellent full-size La Glorias. Except for the nice dark wrapper, they weren't. My box was harsh, lacked any subtlety in it's aromas, tasted about like a machine-made Topper Grande Corona. On the plus side, they seemed to be pretty uniformly made, reasonably tight while still drawing and burning well, and to have a substantial nicotine content. Overall, though, what a disappointment. To me, this box contained what were roughly "mowing-the-lawn" cigars. And I've bought much tastier, more pleasingly aromatic cigars at my local drug store.

14 10
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
30
Construction
50
Draw
70
Consistency
70
Appearance
30
Burn
70
OMG
by tom in brunswick, ga on May 04, 2010

WOW is all I can say! I'm a maduro freak, for the price Bahia maduro has been my choice 29.99 on competitors sight. Have tried several maduros out there and these are the bomb!!!!!!! Auction price makes them my new goto!!!! excellent even burn, flavor is so outrageous , smooth and consistent! There are definitely STRONGER maduros out there, but this one is YUMMY all the way to the nub!

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
Great taste-Inconsistent Draw
by Dan in Texas on February 13, 2010
Verified purchase

I buy a handful of these every now and again and am surprised that quality control hasn't changed the construction of these cigars. The taste is among the best for a medium bodied cigar but about half of them are so tightly rolled that they are a workout to smoke. If I ever buy a five pack that has a consistent draw, I will probably buy a box because I like the taste so much.

0 0
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
Construction
Draw
Consistency
Appearance
Burn
no rating values found
Results per page:
10
Previous< 1 2 Next>
Showing items 1 - 10 of 20
Enter your email to start receiving special offers.
For website help, please contact us by email or call us at 1-800-564-2486
Famous Smoke is a secure retailer of the finest cigars online at the web's best prices. Please note that Famous Smoke Shop does not sell tobacco products to anyone under the age of 18 (or the minimum age in your local jurisdiction, whichever is higher). Note also that it is unlawful to even attempt to purchase cigars below the minimum age. If you are not of legal age, please do not enter our site.
Copyright © 2015 Famous Smoke Shop-PA, Inc. All rights reserved.