Cigar Deals!Offer

Oliva Cain Daytona Reviews

73rated
19 reviews
63% of reviewers recommend this product
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
54
Construction
82
Draw
78
Consistency
77
Appearance
85
Burn
82
Buy Oliva Cain Daytona Cigars online at discount prices here at Famous Smoke Shop - your source for Oliva Cain Daytona Cigars.
most helpful positive review
100 rated
Good every day cigar
for Oliva Cain Daytona Robusto
by in Minneapolis on August 14, 2015

Can t beat the power taste and quality for the price.

4 3
most helpful negative review
62 rated
Cain Daytona a bit of a let down
for Oliva Cain Daytona Torpedo
by in Columbus, Ohio on February 15, 2012

(read all of my cigar reviews on "The Burn Notice" at: http://fatalhalocigars/blogspot.com) I read that this cigar was on Cigar Journal?s Top 25 list, so I figured I?d give it a shot and see what it was all about. Cigars by Olivia have never really been exceptional in my experience, but knowing that each blend has different characteristics and nuances, I?m certainly not going to pass up an opportunity to explore further ? and being that this cigar rated pretty high among the others, I?m interested to see what it has to offer. Noted as a more ?mild? smoke than others in its brand, it may provide just the cut off the top I?m looking for. PRE-SMOKE ANALYSIS The wrapper itself is almost seamlessly rolled ? looks as if it were rolled from a single leaf with no seams or breaks anywhere to be seen. Very nice job. The Habano wrapper itself is a little veiny, but doesn?t feel that way when I run my fingers along it. Very smooth and delicate. The aroma coming off of the wrapper is exquisite. Very aromatic. It has a sweet yet earthy aroma to it that is very pleasing indeed. The tightly bunched tobacco at the foot looks like the cross section of a fallen tree and I?m tempted just for a moment to count the rings as if that will be any prediction as for what?s in store! The strengthened aroma coming off of the foot is a little more earthy and roasted, but still very enticing. THE FIRST THIRD The cap clipped cleanly with no fraying and the cigar took the flame from my torch well and the draw was surprisingly perfect for a torpedo. Occasionally I?ll have some difficulty with drawing off of a torpedo because my guillotine cutter tends to smash the tobacco together and makes it hard for any smoke to pass through, but this one seems to be just fine for now. I wonder if it has anything to do with the way the ligero filler is rolled? It was certainly impressive to see it so finely packed at the foot before lighting it. The first draw was a little strong, so I?m sampling it gently as the burn begins to even out. The aroma is unique to anything I?ve smoked before ? somewhat difficult to pinpoint specific flavors, but I?m picking up a sweetness blended with coffee and spice which is very satisfying. That earthy/cedar-like aroma that was present on the pre-smoke is certainly still evident and even more pronounced now. Though the Daytona is toted as being more on the mild side, it will still likely pack a punch to the inexperienced smoker, but the flavors are certainly worth experiencing for yourself. THE SECOND THIRD I am starting to have some real difficulty keeping this cigar lit ? and I?m beginning to wonder if the torpedo cap is mostly to blame. I?ve had to correct the burn several times, relight once and re-clip the cap to try and get a better draw. The flavors remained pretty consistent throughout this segment of the cigar. Smoke was thick and heavy, but full of flavor ? particularly pepper and spice. I really have to draw hard on it and give it a good couple of puffs before I get any substantial smoke to sample though. I?m beginning to wonder if the number of times I?m having to torch this cigar to keep it lit and to keep the burn even is charring the tobacco and affecting the flavor though as it is beginning to leave a bit of a bitter taste on my palate. BURNING OUT The flavors have remained consistent right up until the end. Nothing notable or revolutionary about it in my opinion. It is a milder version of some of the other Olivia cigars I?ve had in the past, but it wasn?t as complex a cigar as I was expecting it to be. FINAL THOUGHTS Overall, I was a bit disappointed with this one and not sure if the Olivia brand is really one I appreciate as much as the others. The cigar started off very well, but the trouble I had keeping it lit was maddening and really detracted from the overall experience. It was constantly canoeing in the burn and I?m sure at least half of the cigar was burned up just in the process of relighting and correcting it. Looking past the difficulty I had with that, the aromas and flavors just weren?t packing that punch I like to have in a cigar. Consistency is generally a good thing for some brands, but I was expecting more considering how highly it was rated by more experienced connoisseurs than myself. On the appearance and construction aspect, I give this cigar high marks, but the real proof of quality should always be on the smoking experience and for this one I feel it was a bit of a let down. I would like to think that maybe a different shaped cigar of this same line may smoke more evenly so I can give it a proper review, but I don?t see myself looking into buying another one any time in the near future. Liked It?: I?ve had worse. Buy It Again?: Not likely. Recommend It?: Probably not.

5 3
recommended for you based on Oliva Cain Daytona
100rated
Good every day cigar
for Oliva Cain Daytona Robusto
by Paul in Minneapolis on August 14, 2015

Can t beat the power taste and quality for the price.

... read more
43
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
100
Draw
100
Consistency
100
Appearance
100
Burn
100
96rated
Best stick for the price hands down
for Oliva Cain Daytona Corona
by robert in Sayre, Oklahoma on September 17, 2014

This is a powerful smooth cigar with a slow burn,at an hour in almost this cigar is only two inches down .I love the draw it has a velvety smooth texture to the smoke,a creamy woodsy peppery and leathery taste. I seriously dont know of any cigars that are $118 for a box that compare .I seriously was busy and didnt puff it for a few minutes and it took a quick rotation and a steady draw to re ignite ,burn isnt razor sharp but it doesnt need any touching up if you know how to properly smoke .I would rank this particular cigar a 95 only because its not a cigar that will wow you . I will say if you enjoy Nicaraguan smokes this is nothing to sleep on and at the price its a bargain. I taste no harshness, and it didnt stsrt off with that bitter flavor 60% of cigars have. I say buy a box and spark em up this has only been in the humidor two weeks and is very similar to the Cohiba Nicaragua minus the extreme pepper zing. I would take these over a tatuaje black any day .I hope you all realize how tasty these smokes are but the power is subtle .I would say if you like joya de nicaragua these taste identical to the antano with a more creamy finish . Also a tip when you cut this cigar dont take off but a silver and you will have a smaller ring which maximizes the flavor you will experience too many cut off a cigar way to far and Ive done it before these smokes are worth far more than the selling price .

... read more
00
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
100
Construction
90
Draw
100
Consistency
90
Appearance
100
Burn
100
93rated
Moderate strength, burns evenly with clean white ash, easy draw.
for Oliva Cain Daytona Robusto
by Earl R. Allison in Texas on November 22, 2017

I don t get into descriptions that include words like hints of coffee, toped with blueberries, etc. I find the Daytona Robusto a tad milder than Olivia Cain F550 and a great everyday smoke. Its construction is excellent and even, and this produces an easy draw and even burn. The ash is white and it holds well.

... read more
13
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
90
Construction
100
Draw
90
Consistency
90
Appearance
100
Burn
90
88rated
good 35 minutes
for Oliva Cain Daytona No. 4
by DC in Los Angeles on February 08, 2013

Medium light smooth wrapper, easy to cut, good pre light draw with hints of peppery woody spice. Burn was consistent and didn't need any touch ups, 1st third has an earthy spice, 2nd third the spice died off some, more earthy notes on the finish, last 3rd the spice came back but not as prominent as the 1st, and the earthy tones persisted, to me a solid medium stick worth the $4-$5, Great pairing with your morning Joe. A solid 87+ rating from me, smoked 4 of the 5r I bought a few months back, and each with the same result, might age well?

... read more
12
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
80
Construction
90
Draw
100
Consistency
90
Appearance
90
Burn
100
85rated
Not bad...
for Oliva Cain Daytona Corona
by Joe in Nor Cal on December 30, 2014

Good draw and burn. Taste and appearance are just a bit above average. But the construction held up and it burned, tasted consistently throughout, having only to relight once. Very enjoyable for the price.

... read more
10
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
80
Construction
90
Draw
90
Consistency
90
Appearance
80
Burn
80
85rated
Cain Daytona
for Oliva Cain Daytona Torpedo
by Abram J in San Bernardino, CA on March 03, 2014

Good smooth smoke. Burns well. Good for everyday.

... read more
44
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
90
Construction
90
Draw
80
Consistency
80
Appearance
90
Burn
80
81rated
Not bad, but not great.
for Oliva Cain Daytona Corona
by Jim in Wilmington, NC on July 09, 2014

Great construction and burn. Nice even burn. Flavor is not bad, but it s not great either. Solid medium flavor with a lot of white smoke. Slight occasional spice but predominately woody flavor. Fairly strong Nicotine for the medium body. Overall, not bad, but for the price range I prefer some of the other budget friendly Oliva cigars. I was hoping this would be more like the flavor profile as the Oliva inferno due to all the ligero, which I enjoyed much more. For the price I would prefer an Oliva Inferno. Not bad for a sampler and a casual outside/beach smoke, but I probably won t buy them over other sticks in the price range.

... read more
11
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
70
Construction
90
Draw
90
Consistency
80
Appearance
90
Burn
90
76rated
Too harsh for me
for Oliva Cain Daytona No. 4
by Vasil in CA on June 08, 2014

It s a nice cigar, but... to harsh for me, it s not my style, but that s me. :

... read more
04
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
70
Construction
80
Draw
80
Consistency
80
Appearance
80
Burn
80
76rated
Decent mellow smoke
for Oliva Cain Daytona Double Toro
by renodino in Reno, NV on June 26, 2011
Verified purchase

Picked up the 60 at a local shop. Very pretty stick, esp for such a big ring. Draw was just right; burn was pretty even, despite smoking outdoors on a breezy day - never had to touch it up. Flavor/aroma are pretty subdued - definitely not for those looking for a punch in the tastebuds. But for a lazy summer afternoon smoke, it stacked up well. My only complaint: when it got down to the last 2 inches, the wrapper split. Considering the dry conditions, and the fact I'd been nursing it for 90 minutes, thats not too surprising. Seriously considering buying a box for my upcoming vacation.

... read more
21
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
60
Construction
80
Draw
90
Consistency
80
Appearance
90
Burn
90
75rated
Burned poorly and tasted industrial
for Oliva Cain Daytona Robusto
by Todd in Tucson on July 25, 2016

I was very excited to try this cigar as I love the Cain F Habano. Unfortunately, the Daytona burned terrible and the smoke was not pleasurable. It had hints of pepper, earth and then this yucky industrial aftertaste. I like a few cigars a day and won t buy anymore of these.

... read more
35
 
ExcellentPoor
Taste
80
Construction
80
Draw
80
Consistency
60
Appearance
90
Burn
50
Famous Smoke is a secure retailer of the finest cigars online at the web's best prices. Please note that Famous Smoke Shop does not sell tobacco products to anyone under the age of 21 (or the minimum age in your local jurisdiction, whichever is higher). Note also that it is unlawful to even attempt to purchase cigars below the minimum age. If you are not of legal age, please do not enter our site. For more information on how we verify age click here.
Copyright © 2017 Famous Smoke Shop-PA, Inc. All rights reserved.